Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0417
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0417  95th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Brandon W. Phelps - Lisa M. Dugan - Lou Lang - John E. Bradley, Careen M Gordon, Mike Boland, Jack D. Franks, Jack McGuire, Patrick J Verschoore, Elga L. Jefferies, Kurt M. Granberg, Linda Chapa LaVia and Fred Crespo

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 510/510-40 new
20 ILCS 1705/4.2a new
20 ILCS 2310/2310-12 new
20 ILCS 2805/2.09 new
305 ILCS 5/12-4.37 new
730 ILCS 5/3-6-2.10 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Department of Children and Family Services Powers Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois, the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Administrative Act, the Department of Public Health Powers and Duties Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois, the Department of Veterans Affairs Act, the Illinois Public Aid Code, and the Unified Code of Corrections. Provides that no nurse who is paid an hourly wage and who has direct responsibility to oversee or carry out nursing care or related duties may be required to work mandated overtime except in the case of an unforeseen emergent circumstance when such overtime is required only as a last resort, and limits the time of such overtime. Provides that when a nurse is mandated to work up to 12 consecutive hours, the nurse must be allowed at least 8 consecutive hours of off-duty time. Prohibits retaliation because a nurse refuses to work mandated overtime as prohibited under these provisions. Authorizes the filing of complaints alleging violations of these provisions. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/25/2007HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  1/26/2007HouseFirst Reading
  1/26/2007HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/31/2007HouseAssigned to Labor Committee
  2/2/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  2/7/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  2/7/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. John E. Bradley
  2/28/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Careen M Gordon
  3/8/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Boland
  3/21/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/21/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack McGuire
  3/21/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J Verschoore
  3/21/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elga L. Jefferies
  3/21/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kurt M. Granberg
  3/21/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/22/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  3/23/2007HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top