Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5705
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5705  95th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Elaine Nekritz - Naomi D. Jakobsson - Sidney H. Mathias - Elizabeth Coulson - Maria Antonia Berrios, William Davis, Julie Hamos, Deborah L. Graham, Harry Osterman, Karen May, Kathleen A. Ryg, Constance A. Howard, Daniel J. Burke and LaShawn K. Ford

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Child-Safe Chemicals Act. Regulates the sale and distribution of children's products or product components containing lead or other specified chemicals. Designates priority chemicals of high concern. Requires manufacturers and trade associations to report to the Environmental Protection Agency. Sets forth the responsibilities of the Agency. Provides for exemptions. Requires the Agency to create an interstate clearinghouse. Contains provisions for implementation and enforcement. Contains other provisions. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2008HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  2/15/2008HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2008HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/20/2008HouseAssigned to Environment & Energy Committee
  2/21/2008HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  2/25/2008HouseRe-assigned to Environmental Health Committee
  3/12/2008HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  3/12/2008HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Coulson
  3/12/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/13/2008HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maria Antonia Berrios
  3/13/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Julie Hamos
  3/13/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deborah L. Graham
  3/13/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Osterman
  3/14/2008HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/28/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen May
  4/1/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen A. Ryg
  5/9/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Constance A. Howard
  5/9/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel J. Burke
  5/9/2008HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaShawn K. Ford
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top