Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5539
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5539  96th General Assembly

Short Description:  CORRUPTION-FORFEIT

House Sponsors
Rep. John D. Cavaletto - Robert F. Flider - David Reis - Bill Mitchell - Jim Watson, Jack D. Franks, Keith Farnham, Linda Chapa LaVia, Carol A. Sente, Darlene J. Senger, Michael G. Connelly, Kay Hatcher, Dennis M. Reboletti, Sandy Cole, Sidney H. Mathias, Michael P. McAuliffe and Michael W. Tryon

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. John O. Jones)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2011HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
10 ILCS 5/9-8.10

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Public Corruption Profit Forfeiture Act and amends the Election Code. Provides for the forfeiture to the State of Illinois of proceeds and profits derived through violations of the statutes concerning intimidation by public officials, bribery, or providing, attempting, offering to provide or soliciting, accepting, or attempting to accept a kickback, or including, directly or indirectly, the amount of any kickback prohibited in the contract price charged by a subcontractor to a prime contractor or a higher tier subcontractor or in the contract price charged by a prime contractor to any unit of State or local government for a public contract a kickback. Provides for distribution of the proceeds from forfeited property. Includes a continuing appropriation to the Department of State Police. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/8/2010HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. John D. Cavaletto
  2/9/2010HouseFirst Reading
  2/9/2010HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/16/2010HouseAssigned to Judiciary I - Civil Law Committee
  3/3/2010HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Judiciary I - Civil Law Committee; 014-000-000
  3/3/2010HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/16/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert F. Flider
  3/25/2010HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/25/2010HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/25/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. David Reis
  3/25/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  3/25/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Watson
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith Farnham
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol A. Sente
  3/26/2010HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 107-000-000
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael G. Connelly
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandy Cole
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  3/26/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael W. Tryon
  4/6/2010SenateArrive in Senate
  4/6/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/6/2010SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. John O. Jones
  4/6/2010SenateFirst Reading
  4/6/2010SenateReferred to Assignments
  1/11/2011HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top