Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3476
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3476  97th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Michael J. Madigan - Martin J. Moylan, Michael Halpin, Sue Scherer, Katie Stuart, Carol Sente, Michelle Mussman, Deb Conroy, Brandon W. Phelps, Natalie A. Manley and Sam Yingling

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
720 ILCS 5/11-9.3

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Criminal Code of 2012. Provides that a child sex offender is prohibited from entering into or remaining in a designated child area or a designated teen area of a library, or both, and is prohibited from attending a designated child program or designated teen program at a library, or being present in the place where a designated child program or designated teen program is being held. Provides an exception, that a child sex offender may be present in a designated child area or attend a designated child program only when accompanied by the child sex offender's son or daughter, provided the son or daughter remains in the immediate area of the child sex offender at all times while the child sex offender is in the designated child area or attending the designated child program. Provides that this exemption does not apply to a child sex offender who engages in conduct creating a risk of harm to others, or whose presence in the library is otherwise in violation of any law, statute, ordinance, or library policy, bylaw, term, rule, or regulation. Provides that a library shall identify any designated child area or designated teen area, and shall ensure that each designated child area or designated teen area is prominently marked with signage uniform across all libraries identifying it as such. Defines various terms. Provides that a violation is a Class 4 felony.

DateChamber Action
  2/10/2017HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Michael J. Madigan
  2/10/2017HouseFirst Reading
  2/10/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/10/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/22/2017HouseAssigned to Judiciary - Criminal Committee
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Sente
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  3/3/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/31/2017HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top