Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5565
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5565  97th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jerry F. Costello, II - Ed Sullivan, Jr., Daniel V. Beiser, Patrick J. Verschoore, David Reis, Jil Tracy, Dwight Kay, Chad Hays, John D. Cavaletto, Kay Hatcher, Mike Bost, Pam Roth, Adam Brown, Jason Barickman, Bill Mitchell, Norine Hammond, Wayne Rosenthal, Paul Evans and Michael Unes

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
430 ILCS 65/13.1from Ch. 38, par. 83-13.1

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. Strikes a clause preventing provisions of ordinances from being invalid when they impose greater restrictions or limitations on the acquisition, possession and transfer of firearms than are imposed by this Act. Provides that regulation of the ownership and possession of firearms and related items are the exclusive powers of the State. Provides that a local government may not require registration, reporting of the sale or transfer of a firearm, or may not keep a firearms registry. Provides that any existing or future local ordinances or resolutions imposing any registration requirement on firearms and related items are invalid or void. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2012HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jerry F. Costello, II
  2/15/2012HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2012HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/21/2012HouseAssigned to Agriculture & Conservation Committee
  3/6/2012HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Agriculture & Conservation Committee; 010-000-000
  3/7/2012HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/9/2012HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/9/2012HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/9/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr.
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J. Verschoore
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David Reis
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dwight Kay
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chad Hays
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John D. Cavaletto
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Pam Roth
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam Brown
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Barickman
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine Hammond
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne Rosenthal
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Evans
  3/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Unes
  3/30/2012HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top