Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HJRCA0023
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HJRCA0023  97th General Assembly

Short Description:  TAX INCREASE BILL 3/5 MAJORITY

House Sponsors
Rep. David Harris - Jason Barickman - Pam Roth - Adam Brown - Richard Morthland, Chris Nybo, Robert W. Pritchard, Darlene J. Senger, Norine Hammond, Patricia R. Bellock, Renée Kosel, Michael Unes, Sidney H. Mathias, Jil Tracy, Joe Sosnowski, Kay Hatcher, Sandy Cole, Jim Watson, Jim Durkin, Wayne Rosenthal, Rich Brauer, Raymond Poe, Dan Brady and Paul Evans

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  5/5/2012HouseTabled Pursuant to Rule 46
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 8.1 new 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution concerning the passage of revenue bills. Provides that any bill resulting in the increase of revenue to the State by an increase of a tax on or measured by income or by an increase of a tax on or measured by the selling price of any item of tangible personal property may become law only by a vote of three-fifths of the members in each house of the General Assembly. Effective on being declared adopted in accordance with Section 7 of the Illinois Constitutional Amendment Act.

DateChamber Action
  2/24/2011HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. David Harris
  2/24/2011HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Barickman
  2/24/2011HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Pam Roth
  2/24/2011HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam Brown
  2/24/2011HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Richard Morthland
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Chris Nybo
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Norine Hammond
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Renée Kosel
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Michael Unes
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  2/24/2011HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Sandy Cole
  2/24/2011HouseRead in Full a First Time
  2/24/2011HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/29/2011HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Watson
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Durkin
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne Rosenthal
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  4/18/2012HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  4/18/2012HouseMotion Filed to Discharge Rules Committee Rep. David Harris
  4/18/2012HouseObjects to Motion Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  4/18/2012HouseChair Rules Motion Lost
  4/18/2012HouseMotion Discharge Committee Lost
  4/18/2012HouseAppeal Ruling of Chair Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  4/18/2012HouseChair Rules Motion Out of Order
  4/18/2012HouseAppeal Ruling of Chair Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  4/18/2012HouseShall the Chair be Sustained
  4/18/2012HouseMotion to Sustain the Chair - Prevailed 060-051-000
  4/18/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Evans
  5/5/2012HouseTabled Pursuant to Rule 46

Back To Top