Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB0035
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB0035  97th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Chris Lauzen - Thomas Johnson - Ron Sandack - Shane Cultra - Pamela J. Althoff and Kirk W. Dillard

House Sponsors
(Rep. Lou Lang, Robert W. Pritchard, Jason Barickman, Michael G. Connelly and Mike Fortner)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/7-8from Ch. 46, par. 7-8

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Requires that a State central committee of a political party under Alternative A must be composed of 2 members from each congressional district (one male and one female) elected by the primary voters (now, one member from each district elected by the primary voters or by ward, township, and precinct committeemen). Applies to State central committees elected at or after the 2014 general primary. Provides that, if all of a party's candidates for State central committeemen or State central committeewomen from a congressional district are of the same sex, then the candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be declared elected a State central committeeman or State central committeewoman from the district, and a vacancy shall be declared to exist in the office of the second member of the State central committee from the district. Provides that candidates for election or to fill a vacancy as State central committeeman or committeewoman under Alternative A, a person must have voted in 3 of the 4 most recent primaries of the political party operating under Alternative A. Makes the State central committeeman and committeewoman in a congressional district the members and co-chairpersons of that party's congressional committee. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/27/2011SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Chris Lauzen
  1/27/2011SenateFirst Reading
  1/27/2011SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/9/2011SenateAssigned to Executive
  2/22/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kirk W. Dillard
  3/3/2011SenatePostponed - Executive
  3/10/2011SenateDo Pass Executive; 009-005-000
  3/10/2011SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 14, 2011
  3/15/2011SenateSecond Reading
  3/15/2011SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading March 16, 2011
  3/31/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Johnson
  3/31/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Ron Sandack
  3/31/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Shane Cultra
  3/31/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  4/8/2011SenateThird Reading - Passed; 050-000-000
  4/8/2011HouseArrived in House
  4/8/2011HousePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/8/2011HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  4/8/2011HouseFirst Reading
  4/8/2011HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  4/12/2011HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  5/13/2011HouseCommittee Deadline Extended-Rule 9(b) May 20, 2011
  5/19/2011HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  5/20/2011HouseFinal Action Deadline Extended-9(b) May 27, 2011
  5/24/2011HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Barickman
  5/24/2011HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael G. Connelly
  5/27/2011HouseFinal Action Deadline Extended-9(b) May 31, 2011
  5/29/2011HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  5/29/2011HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  5/29/2011HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 In line by 3PM. Timely filed in accordance with House Rule 18(e)
  5/29/2011HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Executive Committee
  5/31/2011HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
  5/31/2011HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Tabled Pursuant to Rule 40
  5/31/2011HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top