Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5589
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5589  98th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Mark L. Walker, Dan Caulkins, Dave Vella, Daniel Didech, Lawrence Walsh, Jr., Lance Yednock, Thomas Morrison, Jay Hoffman, Steven Reick, Deanne M. Mazzochi, Stephanie A. Kifowit and Jeff Keicher

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
220 ILCS 5/8-406from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 8-406

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Public Utilities Act. Deletes language that provides that no construction shall commence on any new nuclear power plant to be located within the State, and no certificate of public convenience and necessity or other authorization shall be issued therefor by the Illinois Commerce Commission, until the Director of the Environmental Protection Agency finds that the United States Government, through its authorized agency, has identified and approved a demonstrable technology or means for the disposal of high level nuclear waste, or until such construction has been specifically approved by a statute enacted by the General Assembly. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/28/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Mark L. Walker
  1/31/2022HouseFirst Reading
  1/31/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/9/2022HouseAssigned to Energy & Environment Committee
  2/10/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Mark L. Walker
  2/10/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  2/15/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Energy & Environment Committee
  2/18/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rule 19(c) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lance Yednock
  3/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  3/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  3/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven Reick
  3/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi
  3/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  6/14/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top