Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0059
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0059  98th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Tim Butler - Blaine Wilhour - Adam Niemerg, Patrick Windhorst, Tony McCombie, Sam Yingling, Amy Elik, Thomas M. Bennett, Jackie Haas, Ryan Spain, Martin McLaughlin, Jeff Keicher and Avery Bourne

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 125/10-10 new
10 ILCS 125/10-5 rep.

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Redistricting Transparency and Public Participation Act. Creates the Independent Redistricting Commission to adopt and file with the Secretary of State a redistricting plan for Legislative and Representative Districts (rather than requiring the Senate and House of Representatives to each establish a committee, or the Senate and House of Representatives may create by joint resolution a joint committee of both chambers, to consider proposals to redistrict the Legislative Districts or Representative Districts). Provides the commissioner selection process and meeting and voting requirements to adopt a plan. Makes conforming changes in the Act. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Tim Butler
  1/14/2021HouseFirst Reading
  1/14/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/26/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Blaine Wilhour
  1/27/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam Niemerg
  2/11/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  2/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  2/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Elik
  2/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas M. Bennett
  2/23/2021HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  3/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jackie Haas
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  3/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin McLaughlin
  3/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  6/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Avery Bourne
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top