Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB1448
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB1448  96th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Donne E. Trotter and John J. Millner

House Sponsors
(Rep. Marlow H. Colvin - Angelo Saviano - Robert Rita, Joseph M. Lyons, Luis Arroyo, Deborah L. Graham, Patrick J. Verschoore, Careen M. Gordon, Kenneth Dunkin, William D. Burns, Esther Golar, Dennis M. Reboletti, Franco Coladipietro, Randy Ramey, Jr., Sandy Cole, Mike Fortner, Sandra M. Pihos, Renée Kosel, Roger L. Eddy, Darlene J. Senger, Ronald A. Wait, John D. Cavaletto, Michael G. Connelly, Raymond Poe, Rich Brauer, Kay Hatcher, Jil Tracy, David Reis, Bill Mitchell, Robert W. Pritchard, Bob Biggins, Michael P. McAuliffe, Mike Bost, Rosemary Mulligan and Elizabeth Coulson)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  8/25/2009SenatePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 96-0716

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Crossing of Railroad Right-of-way Act. Applies only to crossings of a railroad right-of-way that is owned by a land management company and not a registered rail carrier. Provides that public utilities that locate their facilities within the railroad right-of-way for a crossing shall pay the land management company a one-time standard crossing fee of $1,500 for each crossing. Provides special circumstances under which the standard crossing fee is not imposed. Provides that, if the parties cannot agree that special circumstances exist, the dispute shall be submitted to non-binding arbitration. Provides procedures for the non-binding arbitration and provides that, if the parties cannot resolve their dispute based on the arbitrator's recommendation within 30 days, either party may, upon the expiration of the 30-day period, give written notice to the other party of the commencement of a binding arbitration proceeding. Effective immediately.

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
New Act
Adds reference to:
220 ILCS 5/9-222.1from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 9-222.1

Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Amends the Public Utilities Act. Provides that a business enterprise which is located within an area designated by a county or municipality as an enterprise zone pursuant to the Illinois Enterprise Zone Act or located in a federally designated Foreign Trade Zone or Sub-Zone is exempt from the additional charges added to the business enterprise's utility bills as a pass-on of municipal and State utility taxes, provided that the business enterprise makes investments that cause the retention of a minimum of 300 full-time equivalent jobs in the manufacturing sector, as defined by the North American Industry Classification System, in an area in Illinois in which the unemployment rate is above 9% and makes an application to the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity within 3 months after the effective date of the amendatory Act and certifies relocation of the 300 full-time equivalent jobs within 36 months after the application. Provides that the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity shall determine the period during which the exemption is in effect, which shall not exceed 30 years or the certified term of the enterprise zone, whichever period is shorter, except that the exemption period for a business enterprise qualifying under specified provisions shall not exceed 30 years. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/18/2009SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Mike Jacobs
  2/18/2009SenateFirst Reading
  2/18/2009SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/25/2009SenateAssigned to Executive
  3/6/2009SenatePostponed - Executive
  3/12/2009SenateDo Pass Executive; 013-000-000
  3/12/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 17, 2009
  3/24/2009SenateSecond Reading
  3/24/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading March 25, 2009
  3/26/2009SenateThird Reading - Passed; 057-000-000
  3/26/2009HouseArrived in House
  3/26/2009HousePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  3/26/2009HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Patrick J. Verschoore
  3/26/2009HouseFirst Reading
  3/26/2009HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  4/14/2009HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  5/5/2009HouseAlternate Chief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Marlow H. Colvin
  5/5/2009HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelo Saviano
  5/5/2009HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  5/6/2009HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Executive Committee
  5/6/2009HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in Executive Committee; by Voice Vote
  5/6/2009HouseDo Pass as Amended / Short Debate Executive Committee; 011-000-000
  5/6/2009HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  5/6/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Joseph M. Lyons
  5/6/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
  5/7/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Deborah L. Graham
  5/7/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J. Verschoore
  5/7/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Careen M. Gordon
  5/7/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Kenneth Dunkin
  5/15/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. William D. Burns
  5/18/2009HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  5/18/2009HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  5/19/2009HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 116-000-000
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Esther Golar
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Franco Coladipietro
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy Ramey, Jr.
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandy Cole
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Renée Kosel
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Roger L. Eddy
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Ronald A. Wait
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. John D. Cavaletto
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael G. Connelly
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. David Reis
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Biggins
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Rosemary Mulligan
  5/19/2009HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Coulson
  5/20/2009SenateSecretary's Desk - Concurrence House Amendment(s) 1
  5/20/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of Concurrence House Amendment(s) 1 - May 21, 2009
  5/21/2009SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John J. Millner
  5/21/2009SenateChief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Donne E. Trotter
  5/22/2009SenateHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Motion to Concur Filed with Secretary Sen. Donne E. Trotter
  5/22/2009SenateHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Motion to Concur Referred to Assignments
  5/26/2009SenateHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Motion to Concur Assignments Referred to Energy
  5/29/2009SenateHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Motion To Concur Recommended Do Adopt Energy; 011-000-000
  5/30/2009SenateHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Senate Concurs 056-000-000
  5/30/2009SenatePassed Both Houses
  6/26/2009SenateSent to the Governor
  8/25/2009SenateGovernor Approved
  8/25/2009SenateEffective Date August 25, 2009
  8/25/2009SenatePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 96-0716

Back To Top