Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1465
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB1465  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  REGULATION-TECH

House Sponsors
Rep. Bob Morgan - Katie Stuart - Mark L. Walker - Robyn Gabel - Delia C. Ramirez, Suzanne Ness, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Janet Yang Rohr, Michelle Mussman, Kathleen Willis, Denyse Wang Stoneback, Theresa Mah, Jawaharial Williams, Michael J. Zalewski, Aaron M. Ortiz, Maura Hirschauer, Will Guzzardi, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Justin Slaughter, Lindsey LaPointe, Rita Mayfield, Anne Stava-Murray, Joyce Mason, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Sue Scherer, Dagmara Avelar, Dave Vella, Martin J. Moylan, LaToya Greenwood, Natalie A. Manley, Eva-Dina Delgado, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Carol Ammons, Cyril Nichols, Margaret Croke, Kelly M. Cassidy and Nicholas K. Smith

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Don Harmon)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
215 ILCS 5/155.20from Ch. 73, par. 767.20

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Insurance Code. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning arbitration of medical malpractice disputes.

House Floor Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
215 ILCS 5/155.20
Adds reference to:
New Act
215 ILCS 5/355from Ch. 73, par. 967
215 ILCS 125/4-12from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1409.5

Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Creates the Health Insurance Coverage Premium Misalignment Study Act. Sets forth provisions concerning the purpose of the Act and findings. Provides that the Department of Insurance shall oversee a study to explore rate setting approaches that may yield a misalignment of premiums across different tiers of coverage in Illinois' individual health insurance market. Provides that the study shall produce cost estimates for Illinois residents addressing metal-level premium misalignment policy along with the impact of the policy on health insurance affordability and access and the uninsured rates for low-income and middle-income residents, with break-out data by geography, race, ethnicity, and income level. Provides that the study shall evaluate how premium realignment if implemented would affect costs and outcomes for Illinoisans. Provides that the Department shall develop and submit, no later than January 1, 2024, a report to the General Assembly and the Governor concerning the design, costs, benefits, and implementation of premium realignment to increase affordability and access to health care coverage that leverages existing State infrastructure. Amends the Illinois Insurance Code and the Health Maintenance Organization Act. Provides that all individual and small group accident and health policies written in compliance with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act must file rates with the Department for approval. Provides that rate increases found to be unreasonable rate increases in relation to benefits under the policy provided shall be disapproved. Requires the Department to provide a report to the General Assembly after January 1, 2023 regarding both on and off exchange individual and small group rates in the Illinois market. Requires that the Department approve or deny rate increases within 60 calendar days after the rate increase is filed with the Department and that a rate increase that is not approved or denied by the Department on the 61st calendar day shall be automatically approved. Provides that no less than 30 days after the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has certified the plans described for the upcoming plan year, the Department shall publish on its website a report explaining the rates for the subsequent calendar year's certified policies.

DateChamber Action
  2/11/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/17/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/2/2021HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  3/11/2021HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Executive Committee; 014-000-000
  3/17/2021HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate **
  4/20/2021HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/20/2021HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate **
  4/23/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/3/2022HouseApproved for Consideration Rules Committee; 003-002-000
  4/3/2022HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Bob Morgan
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommends Be Adopted Rules Committee; 003-002-000
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Adopted
  4/4/2022HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  4/4/2022HouseChief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Bob Morgan
  4/4/2022HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 064-000-000
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Ness
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Denyse Wang Stoneback
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  4/4/2022HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cyril Nichols
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  4/5/2022HouseMotion Filed to Reconsider Vote Rep. Greg Harris
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  4/5/2022HouseMotion to Reconsider Vote - Withdrawn Rep. Greg Harris
  4/5/2022SenateArrive in Senate
  4/5/2022SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/5/2022SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Don Harmon
  4/5/2022SenateFirst Reading
  4/5/2022SenateReferred to Assignments
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top