Bill Status of HB0012  98th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Terra Costa Howard - Katie Stuart - Jaime M. Andrade, Jr. - Marcus C. Evans, Jr. - Kathleen Willis, Tony McCombie, Deb Conroy, Anna Moeller, Martin J. Moylan, Margaret Croke, Eva-Dina Delgado, Lakesia Collins, Jonathan Carroll, Kelly M. Cassidy, Bob Morgan, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, John C. D'Amico, Thaddeus Jones, Lindsey LaPointe, Natalie A. Manley, Elizabeth Hernandez, Aaron M. Ortiz, Will Guzzardi, Daniel Didech, Maura Hirschauer, David A. Welter, Dave Severin, Camille Y. Lilly, LaToya Greenwood, Norine K. Hammond, Michael T. Marron, Patrick Windhorst, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Rita Mayfield, Kelly M. Burke, Joyce Mason and Barbara Hernandez

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Ram Villivalam - Melinda Bush - Kimberly A. Lightford - Patricia Van Pelt, Sue Rezin, Chapin Rose, Meg Loughran Cappel and Dale Fowler)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  8/10/2021HousePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 102-0335

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
105 ILCS 5/24-6.4 new
110 ILCS 305/120 new
110 ILCS 520/100 new
110 ILCS 660/5-210 new
110 ILCS 665/10-210 new
110 ILCS 670/15-210 new
110 ILCS 675/20-215 new
110 ILCS 680/25-210 new
110 ILCS 685/30-220 new
110 ILCS 690/35-215 new
110 ILCS 805/3-29.1a new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends various Acts relating to the governance of public schools, public universities, and public community colleges in Illinois. Provides that an employee of a school district, public university, or community college district who has been employed for at least 12 months and who has worked at least 1,000 hours in the previous 12-month period shall be eligible for family and medical leave under the same terms and conditions as leave provided to eligible employees under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993.

DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  1/14/2021HouseFirst Reading
  1/14/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/23/2021HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  2/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/26/2021HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/26/2021HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/26/2021HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/28/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/28/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  3/3/2021HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Labor & Commerce Committee; 017-011-000
  3/4/2021HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/5/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John C. D'Amico
  3/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
  3/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  3/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  3/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  4/13/2021HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/13/2021HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  4/14/2021HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 095-014-000
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael T. Marron
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  4/14/2021HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  4/15/2021SenateArrive in Senate
  4/15/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  4/15/2021SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Ram Villivalam
  4/15/2021SenateFirst Reading
  4/15/2021SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/20/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  4/27/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  4/28/2021SenateAssigned to Labor
  4/30/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  5/12/2021SenateDo Pass Labor; 012-003-000
  5/12/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading May 13, 2021
  5/13/2021SenateSecond Reading
  5/13/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading May 14, 2021
  5/13/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Chapin Rose
  5/13/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Patricia Van Pelt
  5/17/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Meg Loughran Cappel
  5/18/2021SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale Fowler
  5/26/2021SenateThird Reading - Passed; 047-003-000
  5/26/2021HousePassed Both Houses
  5/29/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  6/21/2021HouseSent to the Governor
  8/10/2021HouseGovernor Approved
  8/10/2021HouseEffective Date January 1, 2022
  8/10/2021HousePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 102-0335