Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0146
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0146  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Bob Morgan, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Maura Hirschauer, Sam Yingling, Janet Yang Rohr, Joyce Mason, Suzanne Ness, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Maurice A. West, II, Sue Scherer, Camille Y. Lilly, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Robert Rita, Theresa Mah, Rita Mayfield, Eva-Dina Delgado and Martin J. Moylan

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
215 ILCS 5/355from Ch. 73, par. 967
215 ILCS 125/4-12from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1409.5

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Insurance Code and the Health Maintenance Organization Act. Provides that all individual and small group accident and health policies written in compliance with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act must file rates with the Department of Insurance for approval. Provides that rate increases found to be unreasonable rate increases in relation to benefits under the policy provided shall be disapproved. Requires the Department to provide a report to the General Assembly after January 1, 2023 regarding both on and off exchange individual and small group rates in the Illinois market. Requires that the Department approve or deny rate increases within 60 calendar days after the rate increase is filed with the Department. Provides that a rate increase that is not approved or denied by the Department on the 61st calendar day shall be automatically approved on that day. Provides that no less than 30 days after the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has certified the plans described in this Section for the upcoming plan year, the Department shall publish on its website a report explaining the rates for the subsequent calendar year's certified policies. Defines "unreasonable rate increase".

DateChamber Action
  1/14/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Bob Morgan
  1/14/2021HouseFirst Reading
  1/14/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  2/23/2021HouseAssigned to Insurance Committee
  3/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/21/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Ness
  7/21/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  7/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  8/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  8/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  8/31/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  9/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  9/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  9/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  9/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  10/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top