Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1872
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB1872  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. La Shawn K. Ford - Justin Slaughter - Sonya M. Harper - Delia C. Ramirez - Mary E. Flowers, Kelly M. Cassidy, Jehan Gordon-Booth, Will Guzzardi, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Kambium Buckner, Camille Y. Lilly, Rita Mayfield, Aaron M. Ortiz, Natalie A. Manley, Carol Ammons, Joyce Mason, Margaret Croke, Robyn Gabel, Emanuel Chris Welch, Theresa Mah and Mark L. Walker

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/3-5 rep.

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Repeals provisions that prohibit a person that is serving a sentence of confinement in any penal institution from voting until his or her release from confinement. Effective January 1, 2022.

DateChamber Action
  2/16/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  2/17/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections Committee
  3/10/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/11/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  3/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/2/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  5/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  5/21/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  5/28/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  6/10/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  6/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top