Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HJRCA0046
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HJRCA0046  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Peter Breen - Mike Fortner, Steven A. Andersson, Avery Bourne, Chad Hays, Steven Reick, David McSweeney, Brian W. Stewart, Mark Batinick, Nick Sauer, Lindsay Parkhurst, Tony McCombie, Keith R. Wheeler, Thomas M. Bennett, David S. Olsen, Margo McDermed, Robert W. Pritchard, Norine K. Hammond, Michael D. Unes, David A. Welter, Sara Wojcicki Jimenez, Bill Mitchell, David B. Reis, Dave Severin, Terri Bryant, Keith P. Sommer, John Cavaletto, Christine Winger, Patricia R. Bellock, Sheri Jesiel, C.D. Davidsmeyer, Jeanne M Ives, Brad Halbrook, Thomas Morrison, Jim Durkin, Tom Demmer, Jerry Lee Long, Allen Skillicorn, Daniel Swanson, Charles Meier, Michael P. McAuliffe and Randy E. Frese

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 1 
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2 
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 3 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution. Changes the number of Representative Districts from 118 to 119. Provides that the boundaries of Legislative and Representative Districts may be separate. Replaces the current method of redistricting of the Senate and House of Representatives with the following: a Legislative Redistricting Commission, appointed by the legislative leaders and in accordance with scoring criteria provided by law, shall evaluate separate Legislative District and Representative District maps submitted by the public; the Commission shall use specified formulas to determine quotas and split and compactness scores that are used to evaluate maps; the Commission shall follow a multi-step process that includes (1) voting to eliminate maps that do not comply with the law, (2) ranking and eliminating maps based on split scores, (3) ranking maps based on calculations of compactness, (4) voting to eliminate maps that are substantially the same but of equal or greater number rank, and (5) ranking the remaining maps; the Senate and House, each by a three-fifths vote, may adopt one of the 3 best-ranked maps; and the Secretary of State shall certify the map with the best rank if a chamber fails to adopt a map. Specifies the schedule for redistricting activities. Effective upon being declared adopted and applicable to redistricting beginning in 2021 and to the election of General Assembly members beginning in 2022.

DateChamber Action
  4/17/2018HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Peter Breen
  4/17/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven A. Andersson
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Avery Bourne
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chad Hays
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven Reick
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David McSweeney
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brian W. Stewart
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nick Sauer
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Wheeler
  4/18/2018HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Wheeler
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith R. Wheeler
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas M. Bennett
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David S. Olsen
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  4/18/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  4/18/2018HouseRead in Full a First Time
  4/18/2018HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael D. Unes
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Wojcicki Jimenez
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David B. Reis
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terri Bryant
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith P. Sommer
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Cavaletto
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Christine Winger
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sheri Jesiel
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeanne M Ives
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad Halbrook
  4/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Durkin
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Lee Long
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles Meier
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  4/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy E. Frese
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top