Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5174
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB5174  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jackie Haas, Amy Elik, Bradley Fritts, Kevin Schmidt, Charles Meier, Dan Swanson, Wayne A Rosenthal, Dennis Tipsword, Jr., Jeff Keicher, Christopher "C.D." Davidsmeyer, Joe C. Sosnowski, Michael J. Coffey, Jr., Brad Stephens, Norine K. Hammond, John M. Cabello, Tony M. McCombie, Nicole La Ha, Patrick Sheehan and Tom Weber

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Linda Holmes - Patrick J. Joyce)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  4/19/2024SenateReferred to Assignments

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
40 ILCS 5/7-144from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 7-144

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF) Article of the Illinois Pension Code. In a provision concerning suspensions of retirement annuities during employment with a participating employer, provides that an annuitant receiving a sheriff's law enforcement employee annuity shall be considered a participating employee if the annuitant returns to work as a school security guard employed by a participating employer and works more than 999 hours annually. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/8/2024HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jackie Haas
  2/9/2024HouseFirst Reading
  2/9/2024HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/5/2024HouseAssigned to Personnel & Pensions Committee
  4/4/2024HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Personnel & Pensions Committee; 011-000-000
  4/4/2024HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/17/2024HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/17/2024HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  4/18/2024HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/18/2024HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 108-000-000
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Elik
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bradley Fritts
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Schmidt
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles Meier
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Swanson
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne A Rosenthal
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dennis Tipsword, Jr.
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Christopher "C.D." Davidsmeyer
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe C. Sosnowski
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Coffey, Jr.
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad Stephens
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony M. McCombie
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicole La Ha
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Sheehan
  4/18/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Weber
  4/19/2024SenateArrive in Senate
  4/19/2024SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/19/2024SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Linda Holmes
  4/19/2024SenateFirst Reading
  4/19/2024SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/23/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Patrick J. Joyce

Back To Top