Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5320
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5320  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Margaret Croke - Terra Costa Howard - Mark Batinick, Tim Butler, Amy Grant, Barbara Hernandez, David A. Welter, Michael Halpin, Kambium Buckner, Janet Yang Rohr, Elizabeth Hernandez, Tony McCombie, Kelly M. Burke, Dave Vella, Maurice A. West, II and Sam Yingling

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 5/704A

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Provides that, for the purposes of calculating a credit against withholding taxes for employers with 50 or fewer full-time equivalent employees, for reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2022 and ending on or before December 31, 2024, the maximum credit is 25% of the difference between the amount of compensation paid in Illinois to employees who are paid not more than the required minimum wage reduced by the amount of compensation paid in Illinois to employees who were paid less than the current required minimum wage during the reporting period prior to each increase in the required minimum wage on January 1 (currently: 17% in calendar year 2022; 13% in calendar year 2023; and 9% in calendar year 2024). Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/28/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Margaret Croke
  1/31/2022HouseFirst Reading
  1/31/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/3/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  2/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  2/9/2022HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  2/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  2/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  2/14/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/15/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  2/15/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  2/15/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  2/15/2022HouseTo Income Tax Subcommittee
  2/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  2/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  2/18/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  4/1/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top