Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB0339
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB0339  94th General Assembly


Local Government Committee

Adopted in House Comm. on Feb 02, 2005





09400HB0339ham001 LRB094 06829 WGH 39316 a


2     AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 339 by replacing
3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4     "Section 5. The Counties Code is amended by changing
5 Section 4-11001 as follows:
6     (55 ILCS 5/4-11001)  (from Ch. 34, par. 4-11001)
7     Sec. 4-11001. Juror fees. Each county shall pay to grand
8 and petit jurors for their services in attending courts the sum
9 of $25 $4 for each day of necessary attendance at such courts
10 as jurors in counties of the first class, the sum of $30 $5 for
11 each day in counties of the second class, and the sum of $40
12 $10 for each day in counties of the third class, or such higher
13 amount as may be fixed by the county board.
14     In addition, jurors shall receive such travel expense as
15 may be determined by the county board, provided that jurors in
16 counties of the first class and second class shall receive at
17 least 10 cents per mile for their travel expense. Mileage shall
18 be allowed for travel during a juror's term as well as for
19 travel at the opening and closing of his term.
20     If a judge so orders, a juror shall also receive
21 reimbursement for the actual cost of day care incurred by the
22 juror during his or her service on a jury.
23     The juror fees for service, transportation, and day care
24 shall be paid out of the County Juror Fund, unless amounts in



09400HB0339ham001 - 2 - LRB094 06829 WGH 39316 a

1 that Fund are insufficient, in which case they shall be paid
2 out of the county treasury.
3     For the purpose of funding juror fees, the clerk of court
4 may collect a juror fund fee of no more than $10, as fixed by
5 the county board, from each plaintiff and defendant in an
6 action. The clerk shall deposit all of the juror fund fees
7 collected into a special county fund, the County Juror Fund,
8 which shall be used solely for the purpose of funding juror
9 fees in accordance with this Section. All moneys in the Fund
10 and all income earned on those moneys shall remain in the Fund
11 and shall be available for appropriation by the county board
12 from fiscal year to fiscal year for the purposes provided in
13 this Section. The following parties are exempt from payment of
14 juror fund fees:
15         (i) governmental entities;
16         (ii) pro se litigants;
17         (iii) parties to small claims actions;
18         (iv) parties seeking veterans' benefits or
19     compensation for a veteran or for a veteran's family member
20     or designee;
21         (v) parties to recoupment actions for
22     government-backed educational loans or mortgages;
23         (vi) parties to child custody or child support cases;
24         (vii) parties to actions under the Illinois Domestic
25     Violence Act of 1986;
26         (viii) parties granted leave to commence and prosecute
27     or to defend an action as a poor person without the payment
28     of costs and expenses; and
29         (ix) parties to any other filings designated by Supreme
30     Court rule that involve minimal use of court resources and
31     that are not customarily afforded the opportunity for a
32     trial by jury.
33     In a class action, the court shall determine the amount of
34 the fee, if any, to be charged to each plaintiff and defendant



09400HB0339ham001 - 3 - LRB094 06829 WGH 39316 a

1 as equity requires.
2     The clerk of the court shall furnish to each juror without
3 fee whenever he is discharged a certificate of the number of
4 days' attendance at court, and upon presentation thereof to the
5 county treasurer, he shall pay to the juror the sum provided
6 for his service.
7 (Source: P.A. 91-321, eff. 1-1-00.)
8     Section 90. The State Mandates Act is amended by adding
9 Section 8.29 as follows:
10     (30 ILCS 805/8.29 new)
11     Sec. 8.29. Exempt mandate. Notwithstanding Sections 6 and 8
12 of this Act, no reimbursement by the State is required for the
13 implementation of any mandate created by this amendatory Act of
14 the 94th General Assembly.
15     Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
16 becoming law.".