Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB0069
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB0069  94th General Assembly


Sen. Bill Brady

Filed: 3/22/2005





09400SB0069sam001 LRB094 04244 NHT 43911 a


2     AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 69 by replacing
3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4     "Section 5. The School Code is amended by changing Section
5 27-23 as follows:
6     (105 ILCS 5/27-23)  (from Ch. 122, par. 27-23)
7     Sec. 27-23. Motor Vehicle Code. The curriculum in all
8 public schools shall include a course dealing with the content
9 of Chapters 11, 12, 13, 15, and 16 of the Illinois Vehicle
10 Code, the rules and regulations adopted pursuant to those
11 Chapters insofar as they pertain to the operation of motor
12 vehicles, and the portions of the Litter Control Act relating
13 to the operation of motor vehicles. Instruction shall be given
14 in safety education in each grade, 1 through 8, equivalent to 1
15 class period each week, and in at least 1 of the years in
16 grades 10 through 12. The course of instruction required of
17 each eligible student at the high school level shall consist of
18 a minimum of 30 clock hours of classroom instruction taught by
19 a certified high school teacher who has acquired special
20 qualifications as required for participation under the terms of
21 Section 27-24.2 of this Act. Each school district maintaining
22 grades 9 through 12: (i) shall provide the classroom course for
23 each public and non-public high school student resident of the
24 school district who either has received a passing grade in at



09400SB0069sam001 - 2 - LRB094 04244 NHT 43911 a

1 least 8 courses during the previous 2 semesters or has received
2 a waiver of that requirement from the local superintendent of
3 schools (with respect to a public high school student) or chief
4 school administrator (with respect to a non-public high school
5 student), as provided in Section 27-24.2, and for each
6 out-of-school resident of the district between the age of 15
7 and 21 years who requests the classroom course, and (ii) may
8 provide such classroom course for any resident of the district
9 over age 55 who requests the classroom course, but only if
10 space therein remains available after all eligible public and
11 non-public high school student residents and out-of-school
12 residents between the age of 15 and 21 who request such course
13 have registered therefor, and only if such resident of the
14 district over age 55 has not previously been licensed as a
15 driver under the laws of this or any other state or country.
16 Each school district (i) shall provide an approved course in
17 practice driving consisting of a minimum of 6 clock hours of
18 individual behind-the-wheel instruction or its equivalent in a
19 car, as determined by the State Board of Education, for each
20 eligible resident of the district between the age of 15 and 21
21 years who has started an approved high school classroom driver
22 education course on request, and (ii) may provide such approved
23 course in practice driving for any resident of the district
24 over age 55 on request and without regard to whether or not
25 such resident has started any high school classroom driver
26 education course, but only if space therein remains available
27 after all eligible residents of the district between the ages
28 of 15 and 21 years who have started an approved classroom
29 driver education course and who request such course in practice
30 driving have registered therefor, and only if such resident of
31 the district over age 55 has not previously been licensed as a
32 driver under the laws of this or any other state or country.
33 Subject to rules and regulations of the State Board of
34 Education, the district may charge a reasonable fee, not to



09400SB0069sam001 - 3 - LRB094 04244 NHT 43911 a

1 exceed $300 $50, to students who participate in the course,
2 unless a student is unable to pay for such a course, in which
3 event the fee for such a student shall be waived. The total
4 amount from driver education fees and reimbursement from the
5 State for driver education must not exceed the total cost of
6 the driver education program in any year and must be deposited
7 into the school district's driver education fund as a separate
8 line item budget entry. All moneys deposited into the school
9 district's driver education fund must be used solely for the
10 funding of a high school driver education program approved by
11 the State Board of Education that uses instructors certified by
12 the State Board of Education. If ; provided, that if a district
13 provides the classroom or practice driving course or both of
14 such courses to any residents of the district over age 55, the
15 district may charge such residents a fee in any amount up to
16 but not exceeding the actual cost of the course or courses in
17 which such residents participate. The course of instruction
18 given in grades 10 through 12 shall include an emphasis on the
19 development of knowledge, attitudes, habits and skills
20 necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles including
21 motorcycles insofar as they can be taught in the classroom, and
22 in addition the course shall include instruction on special
23 hazards existing at, and required extra safety and driving
24 precautions that must be observed at, emergency situations,
25 highway construction and maintenance zones, and railroad
26 crossings and the approaches thereto.
27 (Source: P.A. 92-497, eff. 11-29-01.)".