Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB0513
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB0513  98th General Assembly


Rep. Anthony DeLuca

Filed: 4/10/2013





09800HB0513ham001LRB098 03331 RPM 44190 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 513 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The School Code is amended by changing Section
521-5b as follows:
6    (105 ILCS 5/21-5b)
7    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2015)
8    Sec. 21-5b. Alternative certification. The State Board of
9Education, in consultation with the State Teacher
10Certification Board, shall establish and implement an
11alternative certification program under which persons who meet
12the requirements of and successfully complete the program
13established by this Section shall be issued an alternative
14teaching certificate for teaching in the schools. The program
15shall be limited to not more than 260 new participants during
16each year that the program is in effect. The State Board of



09800HB0513ham001- 2 -LRB098 03331 RPM 44190 a

1Education, in cooperation with one or more not-for-profit
2organizations in the State that support excellence in teaching,
3which may be in partnership with a university that offers
44-year baccalaureate and masters degree programs and that is a
5recognized institution as defined in Section 21B-105 of this
6Code, may within 30 days after submission by the program
7sponsor approve a course of study developed by the program
8sponsor that persons in the program must successfully complete
9in order to satisfy one criterion for issuance of an
10alternative certificate under this Section. The Alternative
11Teacher Certification program course of study must include
12content and skills which have been approved by the State Board
13of Education, in consultation with the State Teacher
14Certification Board, as meeting the requirement for State
15teacher certification.
16    The alternative certification program established under
17this Section shall be known as the Alternative Teacher
18Certification program. The Alternative Teacher Certification
19Program shall be offered by the submitting partnership, and
20such partnership may be offered by one or more not-for-profit
21organizations in the State which support excellence in
22teaching. The program shall be comprised of the following 3
23phases: (a) the first phase is the course of study offered on
24an intensive basis in education theory, instructional methods,
25and practice teaching; (b) the second phase is the person's
26assignment to a full-time teaching position for one school



09800HB0513ham001- 3 -LRB098 03331 RPM 44190 a

1year; and (c) the third phase is a comprehensive assessment of
2the person's teaching performance by school officials and the
3partnership participants and a recommendation by the program
4sponsor to the State Board of Education that the person be
5issued a standard alternative teaching certificate. Successful
6completion of the Alternative Teacher Certification program
7shall be deemed to satisfy any other practice or student
8teaching and subject matter requirements established by law.
9    A provisional alternative teaching certificate, valid for
10one year of teaching in the common schools and not renewable,
11shall be issued under this Section 21-5b to persons who at the
12time of applying for the provisional alternative teaching
13certificate under this Section:
14        (1) have graduated from an accredited college or
15    university with a bachelor's degree;
16        (2) have successfully completed the first phase of the
17    Alternative Teacher Certification program as provided in
18    this Section;
19        (3) have passed the tests of basic skills and subject
20    matter knowledge required by Section 21-1a; and
21        (4) (i) have been employed for a period of at least 5
22    years in an area requiring application of the individual's
23    education or (ii) have attained at least a cumulative grade
24    average of a "B" if the individual is assigned either to a
25    school district that has not met the annual measurable
26    objective for highly qualified teachers required by the



09800HB0513ham001- 4 -LRB098 03331 RPM 44190 a

1    Illinois Revised Highly Qualified Teachers (HQT) Plan or to
2    a school district whose data filed with the State Board of
3    Education indicates that the district's poor and minority
4    students are taught by teachers who are not highly
5    qualified at a higher rate than other students; however,
6    this item (4) does not apply with respect to a provisional
7    alternative teaching certificate for teaching in schools
8    situated in a school district that is located in a city
9    having a population in excess of 500,000 inhabitants.
10    Assignment may be made under clause (ii) of this item (4)
11    only if the district superintendent and the exclusive
12    bargaining representative of the district's teachers, if
13    any, jointly agree to permit the assignment.
14    A person possessing a provisional alternative certificate
15under this Section shall be treated as a regularly certified
16teacher for purposes of compensation, benefits, and other terms
17and conditions of employment afforded teachers in the school
18who are members of a bargaining unit represented by an
19exclusive bargaining representative, if any.
20    Until February 15, 2000, a standard alternative teaching
21certificate, valid for 4 years for teaching in the schools and
22renewable as provided in Section 21-14, shall be issued under
23this Section 21-5b to persons who first complete the
24requirements for the provisional alternative teaching
25certificate and who at the time of applying for a standard
26alternative teaching certificate under this Section have



09800HB0513ham001- 5 -LRB098 03331 RPM 44190 a

1successfully completed the second and third phases of the
2Alternative Teacher Certification program as provided in this
3Section. Alternatively, beginning February 15, 2000, at the end
4of the 4-year validity period, persons who were issued a
5standard alternative teaching certificate shall be eligible,
6on the same basis as holders of an Initial Teaching Certificate
7issued under subsection (b) of Section 21-2 of this Code, to
8apply for a Standard Teaching Certificate, provided they meet
9the requirements of subsection (c) of Section 21-2 of this Code
10and further provided that a person who does not apply for and
11receive a Standard Teaching Certificate shall be able to teach
12only in schools situated in a school district that is located
13in a city having a population in excess of 500,000 inhabitants.
14    Beginning February 15, 2000, persons who have completed the
15requirements for a standard alternative teaching certificate
16under this Section shall be issued an Initial Alternative
17Teaching Certificate valid for 4 years of teaching and not
18renewable. At the end of the 4-year validity period, these
19persons shall be eligible, on the same basis as holders of an
20Initial Teaching Certificate issued under subsection (b) of
21Section 21-2 of this Code, to apply for a Standard Teaching
22Certificate, provided they meet the requirements of subsection
23(c) of Section 21-2.
24    Such alternative certification program shall be
25implemented so that the first provisional alternative teaching
26certificates issued under this Section are effective upon the



09800HB0513ham001- 6 -LRB098 03331 RPM 44190 a

1commencement of the 1997-1998 academic year and the first
2standard alternative teaching certificates issued under this
3Section are effective upon the commencement of the 1998-1999
4academic year.
5    The State Board of Education, in cooperation with the
6partnership or partnerships establishing such Alternative
7Teacher Certification programs, shall adopt rules and
8regulations that are consistent with this Section and that the
9State Board of Education deems necessary to establish and
10implement the program.
11    No one may be admitted to an alternative certification
12program under this Section after September 1, 2013, and those
13candidates who are admitted on or before September 1, 2013 must
14complete the program before January 1, 2016 2015.
15    This Section is repealed on January 1, 2016 2015.
16(Source: P.A. 96-862, eff. 1-15-10; 97-607, eff. 8-26-11;
1797-702, eff. 6-25-12.)
18    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
19becoming law.".