Rep. Christian L Mitchell

Filed: 3/15/2013





09800HB1157ham010LRB098 08477 RLC 42527 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 1157, AS AMENDED, by
3inserting the following in its proper numeric sequence:
4    "Section 195. The Firearm Owners Identification Card Act is
5amended by changing Section 3 as follows:
6    (430 ILCS 65/3)  (from Ch. 38, par. 83-3)
7    Sec. 3. (a) Except as provided in Section 3a, no person may
8knowingly transfer, or cause to be transferred, any firearm,
9firearm ammunition, stun gun, or taser to any person within
10this State unless the transferee with whom he deals displays a
11currently valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card which has
12previously been issued in his name by the Department of State
13Police under the provisions of this Act. In addition, all
14firearm, stun gun, and taser transfers by federally licensed
15firearm dealers are subject to Section 3.1.
16    (a-5) Any person who is not a federally licensed firearm



09800HB1157ham010- 2 -LRB098 08477 RLC 42527 a

1dealer and who desires to transfer or sell a firearm while that
2person is on the grounds of a gun show must, before selling or
3transferring the firearm, request the Department of State
4Police to conduct a background check on the prospective
5recipient of the firearm in accordance with Section 3.1.
6    (b) Any person within this State who transfers or causes to
7be transferred any firearm, stun gun, or taser shall keep a
8record of such transfer for a period of 10 years from the date
9of transfer. Such record shall contain the date of the
10transfer; the description, serial number or other information
11identifying the firearm, stun gun, or taser if no serial number
12is available; and, if the transfer was completed within this
13State, the transferee's Firearm Owner's Identification Card
14number. On or after January 1, 2006, the record shall contain
15the date of application for transfer of the firearm. On demand
16of a peace officer such transferor shall produce for inspection
17such record of transfer. If the transfer or sale took place at
18a gun show, the record shall include the unique identification
19number. Failure to record the unique identification number is a
20petty offense.
21    (b-1) The transferor of a firearm, stun gun, or taser must
22furnish a record of the transfer, within 10 days of the
23transfer, to the Department of State Police. The transferee
24must furnish a record of the transfer and a copy of his or her
25valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card to the Department of
26State Police within 10 days of the transfer. The Department of



09800HB1157ham010- 3 -LRB098 08477 RLC 42527 a

1State Police must maintain the record for a period of 10 years.
2    (b-5) Any resident may purchase ammunition from a person
3within or outside of Illinois if shipment is by United States
4mail or by a private express carrier authorized by federal law
5to ship ammunition. Any resident purchasing ammunition within
6or outside the State of Illinois must provide the seller with a
7copy of his or her valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card
8and either his or her Illinois driver's license or Illinois
9State Identification Card prior to the shipment of the
10ammunition. The ammunition may be shipped only to an address on
11either of those 2 documents.
12    (c) The provisions of this Section regarding the transfer
13of firearm ammunition shall not apply to those persons
14specified in paragraph (b) of Section 2 of this Act.
15(Source: P.A. 97-1135, eff. 12-4-12.)".