Rep. Elaine Nekritz

Filed: 3/27/2013





09800HB3229ham002LRB098 10889 MLW 43852 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 3229 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
5changing Section 11-605 as follows:
6    (625 ILCS 5/11-605)  (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-605)
7    Sec. 11-605. Special speed limit while passing schools.
8    (a) For the purpose of this Section, "school" means the
9following entities:
10        (1) A public or private primary or secondary school.
11        (2) A primary or secondary school operated by a
12    religious institution.
13        (3) A public, private, or religious nursery school.
14    When On a school day when school children are present and
15so close thereto that a potential hazard exists because of the
16close proximity of the motorized traffic, no person shall drive



09800HB3229ham002- 2 -LRB098 10889 MLW 43852 a

1a motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 20 miles per hour while
2passing a school zone or while traveling on a roadway on public
3school property or upon any public thoroughfare where children
4pass going to and from school.
5    For the purpose of this Section a school day shall begin at
6seven ante meridian and shall conclude at four post meridian.
7    This Section shall not be applicable unless appropriate
8signs are posted upon streets and highways under their
9respective jurisdiction and maintained by the Department,
10township, county, park district, city, village or incorporated
11town wherein the school zone is located. With regard to the
12special speed limit while passing schools, such signs shall
13give proper due warning that a school zone is being approached
14and shall indicate the school zone and the maximum speed limit
15in effect during school days when school children are present.
16    (b) (Blank).
17    (c) Nothing in this Chapter shall prohibit the use of
18electronic speed-detecting devices within 500 feet of signs
19within a special school speed zone indicating such zone, as
20defined in this Section, nor shall evidence obtained thereby be
21inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding provided the use
22of such device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed
23limit in such special school speed zone.
24    (d) (Blank).
25    (e) A first violation of this Section is a petty offense
26with a minimum fine of $150. A second or subsequent violation



09800HB3229ham002- 3 -LRB098 10889 MLW 43852 a

1of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $300.
2    (f) When a fine for a violation of subsection (a) is $150
3or greater, the person who violates subsection (a) shall be
4charged an additional $50 to be paid to the unit school
5district where the violation occurred for school safety
6purposes. If the violation occurred in a dual school district,
7$25 of the surcharge shall be paid to the elementary school
8district for school safety purposes and $25 of the surcharge
9shall be paid to the high school district for school safety
10purposes. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
11entire $50 surcharge shall be paid to the appropriate school
12district or districts.
13    For purposes of this subsection (f), "school safety
14purposes" includes the costs associated with school zone safety
15education, the Safe Routes to School Program under Section
162705-317 of the Department of Transportation Law of the Civil
17Administrative Code of Illinois, safety programs within the
18School Safety and Educational Improvement Block Grant Program
19under Section 2-3.51.5 of the School Code, and the purchase,
20installation, and maintenance of caution lights which are
21mounted on school speed zone signs.
22    (g) (Blank).
23    (h) (Blank).
24(Source: P.A. 96-52, eff. 7-23-09.)".