Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB0355
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB0355  101st General Assembly


Rep. Mark Batinick

Filed: 2/21/2019





10100HB0355ham001LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 355 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The School Code is amended by changing Section
521B-45 as follows:
6    (105 ILCS 5/21B-45)
7    Sec. 21B-45. Professional Educator License renewal.
8    (a) Individuals holding a Professional Educator License
9are required to complete the licensure renewal requirements as
10specified in this Section, unless otherwise provided in this
12    Individuals holding a Professional Educator License shall
13meet the renewal requirements set forth in this Section, unless
14otherwise provided in this Code. If an individual holds a
15license endorsed in more than one area that has different
16renewal requirements, that individual shall follow the renewal



10100HB0355ham001- 2 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1requirements for the position for which he or she spends the
2majority of his or her time working.
3    (b) All Professional Educator Licenses not renewed as
4provided in this Section shall lapse on September 1 of that
5year. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Section, if
6a license holder's electronic mail address is available, the
7State Board of Education shall send him or her notification
8electronically that his or her license will lapse if not
9renewed, to be sent no more than 6 months prior to the license
10lapsing. Lapsed licenses may be immediately reinstated upon (i)
11payment by the applicant of a $500 penalty to the State Board
12of Education or (ii) the demonstration of proficiency by
13completing 9 semester hours of coursework from a regionally
14accredited institution of higher education in the content area
15that most aligns with one or more of the educator's endorsement
16areas. Any and all back fees, including without limitation
17registration fees owed from the time of expiration of the
18license until the date of reinstatement, shall be paid and kept
19in accordance with the provisions in Article 3 of this Code
20concerning an institute fund and the provisions in Article 21B
21of this Code concerning fees and requirements for registration.
22Licenses not registered in accordance with Section 21B-40 of
23this Code shall lapse after a period of 6 months from the
24expiration of the last year of registration or on January 1 of
25the fiscal year following initial issuance of the license. An
26unregistered license is invalid after September 1 for



10100HB0355ham001- 3 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1employment and performance of services in an Illinois public or
2State-operated school or cooperative and in a charter school.
3Any license or endorsement may be voluntarily surrendered by
4the license holder. A voluntarily surrendered license, except a
5substitute teaching license issued under Section 21B-20 of this
6Code, shall be treated as a revoked license. An Educator
7License with Stipulations with only a paraprofessional
8endorsement does not lapse.
9    (c) From July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, in order to
10satisfy the requirements for licensure renewal provided for in
11this Section, each professional educator licensee with an
12administrative endorsement who is working in a position
13requiring such endorsement shall complete one Illinois
14Administrators' Academy course, as described in Article 2 of
15this Code, per fiscal year.
16    (d) Beginning July 1, 2014, in order to satisfy the
17requirements for licensure renewal provided for in this
18Section, each professional educator licensee may create a
19professional development plan each year. The plan shall address
20one or more of the endorsements that are required of his or her
21educator position if the licensee is employed and performing
22services in an Illinois public or State-operated school or
23cooperative. If the licensee is employed in a charter school,
24the plan shall address that endorsement or those endorsements
25most closely related to his or her educator position. Licensees
26employed and performing services in any other Illinois schools



10100HB0355ham001- 4 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1may participate in the renewal requirements by adhering to the
2same process.
3    Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the
4licensee's professional development activities shall align
5with one or more of the following criteria:
6        (1) activities are of a type that engage participants
7    over a sustained period of time allowing for analysis,
8    discovery, and application as they relate to student
9    learning, social or emotional achievement, or well-being;
10        (2) professional development aligns to the licensee's
11    performance;
12        (3) outcomes for the activities must relate to student
13    growth or district improvement;
14        (4) activities align to State-approved standards; and
15        (5) higher education coursework.
16    (e) For each renewal cycle, each professional educator
17licensee shall engage in professional development activities.
18Prior to renewal, the licensee shall enter electronically into
19the Educator Licensure Information System (ELIS) the name,
20date, and location of the activity, the number of professional
21development hours, and the provider's name. The following
22provisions shall apply concerning professional development
24        (1) Each licensee shall complete a total of 120 hours
25    of professional development per 5-year renewal cycle in
26    order to renew the license, except as otherwise provided in



10100HB0355ham001- 5 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    this Section.
2        (2) Beginning with his or her first full 5-year cycle,
3    any licensee with an administrative endorsement who is not
4    working in a position requiring such endorsement is not
5    required to complete Illinois Administrators' Academy
6    courses, as described in Article 2 of this Code. Such
7    licensees must complete one Illinois Administrators'
8    Academy course within one year after returning to a
9    position that requires the administrative endorsement.
10        (3) Any licensee with an administrative endorsement
11    who is working in a position requiring such endorsement or
12    an individual with a Teacher Leader endorsement serving in
13    an administrative capacity at least 50% of the day shall
14    complete one Illinois Administrators' Academy course, as
15    described in Article 2 of this Code, each fiscal year in
16    addition to 100 hours of professional development per
17    5-year renewal cycle in accordance with this Code.
18        (4) Any licensee holding a current National Board for
19    Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) master teacher
20    designation shall complete a total of 60 hours of
21    professional development per 5-year renewal cycle in order
22    to renew the license.
23        (5) Licensees working in a position that does not
24    require educator licensure or working in a position for
25    less than 50% for any particular year are considered to be
26    exempt and shall be required to pay only the registration



10100HB0355ham001- 6 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    fee in order to renew and maintain the validity of the
2    license.
3        (6) Licensees who are retired and qualify for benefits
4    from a State of Illinois retirement system shall notify the
5    State Board of Education using ELIS, and the license shall
6    be maintained in retired status. For any renewal cycle in
7    which a licensee retires during the renewal cycle, the
8    licensee must complete professional development activities
9    on a prorated basis depending on the number of years during
10    the renewal cycle the educator held an active license. If a
11    licensee retires during a renewal cycle, the licensee must
12    notify the State Board of Education using ELIS that the
13    licensee wishes to maintain the license in retired status
14    and must show proof of completion of professional
15    development activities on a prorated basis for all years of
16    that renewal cycle for which the license was active. An
17    individual with a license in retired status shall not be
18    required to complete professional development activities
19    or pay registration fees until returning to a position that
20    requires educator licensure. Upon returning to work in a
21    position that requires the Professional Educator License,
22    the licensee shall immediately pay a registration fee and
23    complete renewal requirements for that year. A license in
24    retired status cannot lapse. Beginning on January 6, 2017
25    (the effective date of Public Act 99-920) through December
26    31, 2017, any licensee who has retired and whose license



10100HB0355ham001- 7 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    has lapsed for failure to renew as provided in this Section
2    may reinstate that license and maintain it in retired
3    status upon providing proof to the State Board of Education
4    using ELIS that the licensee is retired and is not working
5    in a position that requires a Professional Educator
6    License.
7        (7) For any renewal cycle in which professional
8    development hours were required, but not fulfilled, the
9    licensee shall complete any missed hours to total the
10    minimum professional development hours required in this
11    Section prior to September 1 of that year. Professional
12    development hours used to fulfill the minimum required
13    hours for a renewal cycle may be used for only one renewal
14    cycle. For any fiscal year or renewal cycle in which an
15    Illinois Administrators' Academy course was required but
16    not completed, the licensee shall complete any missed
17    Illinois Administrators' Academy courses prior to
18    September 1 of that year. The licensee may complete all
19    deficient hours and Illinois Administrators' Academy
20    courses while continuing to work in a position that
21    requires that license until September 1 of that year.
22        (8) Any licensee who has not fulfilled the professional
23    development renewal requirements set forth in this Section
24    at the end of any 5-year renewal cycle is ineligible to
25    register his or her license and may submit an appeal to the
26    State Superintendent of Education for reinstatement of the



10100HB0355ham001- 8 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    license.
2        (9) If professional development opportunities were
3    unavailable to a licensee, proof that opportunities were
4    unavailable and request for an extension of time beyond
5    August 31 to complete the renewal requirements may be
6    submitted from April 1 through June 30 of that year to the
7    State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board. If an
8    extension is approved, the license shall remain valid
9    during the extension period.
10        (10) Individuals who hold exempt licenses prior to
11    December 27, 2013 (the effective date of Public Act 98-610)
12    shall commence the annual renewal process with the first
13    scheduled registration due after December 27, 2013 (the
14    effective date of Public Act 98-610).
15        (11) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
16    subsection (e), if a licensee earns more than the required
17    number of professional development hours during a renewal
18    cycle, then the licensee may carry over any hours earned
19    from April 1 through June 30 of the last year of the
20    renewal cycle. Any hours carried over in this manner must
21    be applied to the next renewal cycle. Illinois
22    Administrators' Academy courses or hours earned in those
23    courses may not be carried over.
24    (f) At the time of renewal, each licensee shall respond to
25the required questions under penalty of perjury.
26    (g) The following entities shall be designated as approved



10100HB0355ham001- 9 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1to provide professional development activities for the renewal
2of Professional Educator Licenses:
3        (1) The State Board of Education.
4        (2) Regional offices of education and intermediate
5    service centers.
6        (3) Illinois professional associations representing
7    the following groups that are approved by the State
8    Superintendent of Education:
9            (A) school administrators;
10            (B) principals;
11            (C) school business officials;
12            (D) teachers, including special education
13        teachers;
14            (E) school boards;
15            (F) school districts;
16            (G) parents; and
17            (H) school service personnel.
18        (4) Regionally accredited institutions of higher
19    education that offer Illinois-approved educator
20    preparation programs and public community colleges subject
21    to the Public Community College Act.
22        (5) Illinois public school districts, charter schools
23    authorized under Article 27A of this Code, and joint
24    educational programs authorized under Article 10 of this
25    Code for the purposes of providing career and technical
26    education or special education services.



10100HB0355ham001- 10 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1        (6) A not-for-profit organization that, as of December
2    31, 2014 (the effective date of Public Act 98-1147), has
3    had or has a grant from or a contract with the State Board
4    of Education to provide professional development services
5    in the area of English Learning to Illinois school
6    districts, teachers, or administrators.
7        (7) State agencies, State boards, and State
8    commissions.
9        (8) Museums as defined in Section 10 of the Museum
10    Disposition of Property Act.
11    (h) Approved providers under subsection (g) of this Section
12shall make available professional development opportunities
13that satisfy at least one of the following:
14        (1) increase the knowledge and skills of school and
15    district leaders who guide continuous professional
16    development;
17        (2) improve the learning of students;
18        (3) organize adults into learning communities whose
19    goals are aligned with those of the school and district;
20        (4) deepen educator's content knowledge;
21        (5) provide educators with research-based
22    instructional strategies to assist students in meeting
23    rigorous academic standards;
24        (6) prepare educators to appropriately use various
25    types of classroom assessments;
26        (7) use learning strategies appropriate to the



10100HB0355ham001- 11 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    intended goals;
2        (8) provide educators with the knowledge and skills to
3    collaborate; or
4        (9) prepare educators to apply research to
5    decision-making; or .
6        (10) provide educators with training on inclusive
7    practices in the classroom that examines instructional and
8    behavioral strategies that improve academic and
9    social-emotional outcomes for all students, with or
10    without disabilities, in a general education setting.
11    (i) Approved providers under subsection (g) of this Section
12shall do the following:
13        (1) align professional development activities to the
14    State-approved national standards for professional
15    learning;
16        (2) meet the professional development criteria for
17    Illinois licensure renewal;
18        (3) produce a rationale for the activity that explains
19    how it aligns to State standards and identify the
20    assessment for determining the expected impact on student
21    learning or school improvement;
22        (4) maintain original documentation for completion of
23    activities;
24        (5) provide license holders with evidence of
25    completion of activities; and
26        (6) request an Illinois Educator Identification Number



10100HB0355ham001- 12 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    (IEIN) for each educator during each professional
2    development activity.
3    (j) The State Board of Education shall conduct annual
4audits of a subset of approved providers, except for school
5districts, which shall be audited by regional offices of
6education and intermediate service centers. The State Board of
7Education shall ensure that each approved provider, except for
8a school district, is audited at least once every 5 years. The
9State Board of Education may conduct more frequent audits of
10providers if evidence suggests the requirements of this Section
11or administrative rules are not being met. The State Board of
12Education shall complete random audits of licensees.
13        (1) (Blank).
14        (2) Approved providers shall comply with the
15    requirements in subsections (h) and (i) of this Section by
16    annually submitting data to the State Board of Education
17    demonstrating how the professional development activities
18    impacted one or more of the following:
19            (A) educator and student growth in regards to
20        content knowledge or skills, or both;
21            (B) educator and student social and emotional
22        growth; or
23            (C) alignment to district or school improvement
24        plans.
25        (3) The State Superintendent of Education shall review
26    the annual data collected by the State Board of Education,



10100HB0355ham001- 13 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1    regional offices of education, and intermediate service
2    centers in audits to determine if the approved provider has
3    met the criteria and should continue to be an approved
4    provider or if further action should be taken as provided
5    in rules.
6    (k) Registration fees shall be paid for the next renewal
7cycle between April 1 and June 30 in the last year of each
85-year renewal cycle using ELIS. If all required professional
9development hours for the renewal cycle have been completed and
10entered by the licensee, the licensee shall pay the
11registration fees for the next cycle using a form of credit or
12debit card.
13    (l) Any professional educator licensee endorsed for school
14support personnel who is employed and performing services in
15Illinois public schools and who holds an active and current
16professional license issued by the Department of Financial and
17Professional Regulation or a national certification board, as
18approved by the State Board of Education, related to the
19endorsement areas on the Professional Educator License shall be
20deemed to have satisfied the continuing professional
21development requirements provided for in this Section. Such
22individuals shall be required to pay only registration fees to
23renew the Professional Educator License. An individual who does
24not hold a license issued by the Department of Financial and
25Professional Regulation shall complete professional
26development requirements for the renewal of a Professional



10100HB0355ham001- 14 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1Educator License provided for in this Section.
2    (m) Appeals to the State Educator Preparation and Licensure
3Board must be made within 30 days after receipt of notice from
4the State Superintendent of Education that a license will not
5be renewed based upon failure to complete the requirements of
6this Section. A licensee may appeal that decision to the State
7Educator Preparation and Licensure Board in a manner prescribed
8by rule.
9        (1) Each appeal shall state the reasons why the State
10    Superintendent's decision should be reversed and shall be
11    sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
12    State Board of Education.
13        (2) The State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
14    shall review each appeal regarding renewal of a license
15    within 90 days after receiving the appeal in order to
16    determine whether the licensee has met the requirements of
17    this Section. The State Educator Preparation and Licensure
18    Board may hold an appeal hearing or may make its
19    determination based upon the record of review, which shall
20    consist of the following:
21            (A) the regional superintendent of education's
22        rationale for recommending nonrenewal of the license,
23        if applicable;
24            (B) any evidence submitted to the State
25        Superintendent along with the individual's electronic
26        statement of assurance for renewal; and



10100HB0355ham001- 15 -LRB101 05824 AXK 56591 a

1            (C) the State Superintendent's rationale for
2        nonrenewal of the license.
3        (3) The State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
4    shall notify the licensee of its decision regarding license
5    renewal by certified mail, return receipt requested, no
6    later than 30 days after reaching a decision. Upon receipt
7    of notification of renewal, the licensee, using ELIS, shall
8    pay the applicable registration fee for the next cycle
9    using a form of credit or debit card.
10    (n) The State Board of Education may adopt rules as may be
11necessary to implement this Section.
12(Source: P.A. 99-58, eff. 7-16-15; 99-130, eff. 7-24-15;
1399-591, eff. 1-1-17; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 99-920, eff. 1-6-17;
14100-13, eff. 7-1-17; 100-339, eff. 8-25-17; 100-596, eff.
157-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)".