Sen. Steve Stadelman

Filed: 2/24/2022





10200SB3082sam001LRB102 23334 LNS 36941 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 3082 on page 1,
3immediately below line 3, by inserting the following:
4    "Section 3. The High-Speed Railway Commission Act is
5amended by changing Section 5 as follows:
6    (20 ILCS 4102/5)
7    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
8    Sec. 5. Commission created; membership.
9    (a) There is created the High-Speed Railway Commission to
10carry out the duties set forth in Section 10.
11    (b) The Commission shall be composed of the following
13        (1) The Governor or his or her designee.
14        (2) The President of the Senate or his or her
15    designee.
16        (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate or his or her



10200SB3082sam001- 2 -LRB102 23334 LNS 36941 a

1    designee.
2        (4) The Speaker of the House or his or her designee.
3        (5) The Minority Leader of the House or his or her
4    designee.
5        (6) The Secretary of Transportation or his or her
6    designee.
7        (7) The Chairperson of the Illinois State Toll Highway
8    Authority or his or her designee.
9        (8) The Chairperson of the Illinois Commerce
10    Commission or his or her designee.
11        (9) The Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Metra
12    or his or her designee.
13        (10) The Mayor of the City of Chicago or his or her
14    designee.
15        (11) A representative of a labor organization
16    representing rail workers, appointed by the Governor.
17        (12) A representative of a trade organization related
18    to the rail industry, appointed by the Governor.
19        (13) A representative of the Metropolitan Mayors and
20    Managers Association, appointed by the Governor.
21        (14) A representative from the Illinois Railroad
22    Association, appointed by the Governor.
23        (15) A representative from the University of Illinois
24    System, appointed by the Governor.
25        (16) A representative from the Chicago Metropolitan
26    Agency for Planning, appointed by the Governor.



10200SB3082sam001- 3 -LRB102 23334 LNS 36941 a

1        (17) A representative of the Illinois Municipal
2    League, appointed by the Governor.
3        (18) A representative of the Champaign-Urbana Mass
4    Transit District, appointed by the Governor.
5        (19) A representative of the Region 1 Planning
6    Council, appointed by the Governor.
7        (20) A representative of the McLean County Regional
8    Planning Commission, appointed by the Governor.
9        (21) A representative of the East-West Gateway Council
10    of Governments, appointed by the Governor.
11    (c) The Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected
12from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of
13the total membership of the Commission. The Vice-Chairperson
14of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's
15membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership
16of the Commission.
17    (d) The Governor, President of the Senate, Minority Leader
18of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and
19Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall make
20their initial appointments to the Commission by January 1,
212023 2022.
22    (e) Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in
23the same manner as initial appointments.
24    (f) Total membership of the Commission consists of the
25number of members serving on the Commission, not including any
26vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of



10200SB3082sam001- 4 -LRB102 23334 LNS 36941 a

1total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the
2business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the
3bylaws of the Commission.
4    (g) The Commission shall meet at least quarterly.
5(Source: P.A. 102-261, eff. 8-6-21.)".