Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB3663
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Full Text of SB3663  102nd General Assembly


Sen. Sue Rezin

Filed: 2/18/2022





10200SB3663sam002LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 3663, AS AMENDED,
3by replacing everything after the enacting clause with the
5    "Section 5. The School Code is amended by changing Section
621B-45 as follows:
7    (105 ILCS 5/21B-45)
8    Sec. 21B-45. Professional Educator License renewal.
9    (a) Individuals holding a Professional Educator License
10are required to complete the licensure renewal requirements as
11specified in this Section, unless otherwise provided in this
13    Individuals holding a Professional Educator License shall
14meet the renewal requirements set forth in this Section,
15unless otherwise provided in this Code. If an individual holds
16a license endorsed in more than one area that has different



10200SB3663sam002- 2 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1renewal requirements, that individual shall follow the renewal
2requirements for the position for which he or she spends the
3majority of his or her time working.
4    (b) All Professional Educator Licenses not renewed as
5provided in this Section shall lapse on September 1 of that
6year. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Section, if
7a license holder's electronic mail address is available, the
8State Board of Education shall send him or her notification
9electronically that his or her license will lapse if not
10renewed, to be sent no more than 6 months prior to the license
11lapsing. Lapsed licenses may be immediately reinstated upon
12(i) payment by the applicant of a $500 penalty to the State
13Board of Education or (ii) the demonstration of proficiency by
14completing 9 semester hours of coursework from a regionally
15accredited institution of higher education in the content area
16that most aligns with one or more of the educator's
17endorsement areas. Any and all back fees, including without
18limitation registration fees owed from the time of expiration
19of the license until the date of reinstatement, shall be paid
20and kept in accordance with the provisions in Article 3 of this
21Code concerning an institute fund and the provisions in
22Article 21B of this Code concerning fees and requirements for
23registration. Licenses not registered in accordance with
24Section 21B-40 of this Code shall lapse after a period of 6
25months from the expiration of the last year of registration or
26on January 1 of the fiscal year following initial issuance of



10200SB3663sam002- 3 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1the license. An unregistered license is invalid after
2September 1 for employment and performance of services in an
3Illinois public or State-operated school or cooperative and in
4a charter school. Any license or endorsement may be
5voluntarily surrendered by the license holder. A voluntarily
6surrendered license shall be treated as a revoked license. An
7Educator License with Stipulations with only a
8paraprofessional endorsement does not lapse.
9    (c) From July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, in order to
10satisfy the requirements for licensure renewal provided for in
11this Section, each professional educator licensee with an
12administrative endorsement who is working in a position
13requiring such endorsement shall complete one Illinois
14Administrators' Academy course, as described in Article 2 of
15this Code, per fiscal year.
16    (c-5) All licenses issued by the State Board of Education
17under this Article that expire on June 30, 2020 and have not
18been renewed by the end of the 2020 renewal period shall be
19extended for one year and shall expire on June 30, 2021.
20    (d) Beginning July 1, 2014, in order to satisfy the
21requirements for licensure renewal provided for in this
22Section, each professional educator licensee may create a
23professional development plan each year. The plan shall
24address one or more of the endorsements that are required of
25his or her educator position if the licensee is employed and
26performing services in an Illinois public or State-operated



10200SB3663sam002- 4 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1school or cooperative. If the licensee is employed in a
2charter school, the plan shall address that endorsement or
3those endorsements most closely related to his or her educator
4position. Licensees employed and performing services in any
5other Illinois schools may participate in the renewal
6requirements by adhering to the same process.
7    Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the
8licensee's professional development activities shall align
9with one or more of the following criteria:
10        (1) activities are of a type that engage participants
11    over a sustained period of time allowing for analysis,
12    discovery, and application as they relate to student
13    learning, social or emotional achievement, or well-being;
14        (2) professional development aligns to the licensee's
15    performance;
16        (3) outcomes for the activities must relate to student
17    growth or district improvement;
18        (4) activities align to State-approved standards; and
19        (5) higher education coursework.
20    (e) For each renewal cycle, each professional educator
21licensee shall engage in professional development activities.
22Prior to renewal, the licensee shall enter electronically into
23the Educator Licensure Information System (ELIS) the name,
24date, and location of the activity, the number of professional
25development hours, and the provider's name. The following
26provisions shall apply concerning professional development



10200SB3663sam002- 5 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

2        (1) Each licensee shall complete a total of 120 hours
3    of professional development per 5-year renewal cycle in
4    order to renew the license, except as otherwise provided
5    in this Section.
6        (2) Beginning with his or her first full 5-year cycle,
7    any licensee with an administrative endorsement who is not
8    working in a position requiring such endorsement is not
9    required to complete Illinois Administrators' Academy
10    courses, as described in Article 2 of this Code. Such
11    licensees must complete one Illinois Administrators'
12    Academy course within one year after returning to a
13    position that requires the administrative endorsement.
14        (3) Any licensee with an administrative endorsement
15    who is working in a position requiring such endorsement or
16    an individual with a Teacher Leader endorsement serving in
17    an administrative capacity at least 50% of the day shall
18    complete one Illinois Administrators' Academy course, as
19    described in Article 2 of this Code, each fiscal year in
20    addition to 100 hours of professional development per
21    5-year renewal cycle in accordance with this Code.
22        (4) Any licensee holding a current National Board for
23    Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) master teacher
24    designation shall complete a total of 60 hours of
25    professional development per 5-year renewal cycle in order
26    to renew the license.



10200SB3663sam002- 6 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1        (5) Licensees working in a position that does not
2    require educator licensure or working in a position for
3    less than 50% for any particular year are considered to be
4    exempt and shall be required to pay only the registration
5    fee in order to renew and maintain the validity of the
6    license.
7        (6) Licensees who are retired and qualify for benefits
8    from a State of Illinois retirement system shall notify
9    the State Board of Education using ELIS, and the license
10    shall be maintained in retired status. For any renewal
11    cycle in which a licensee retires during the renewal
12    cycle, the licensee must complete professional development
13    activities on a prorated basis depending on the number of
14    years during the renewal cycle the educator held an active
15    license. If a licensee retires during a renewal cycle, the
16    licensee must notify the State Board of Education using
17    ELIS that the licensee wishes to maintain the license in
18    retired status and must show proof of completion of
19    professional development activities on a prorated basis
20    for all years of that renewal cycle for which the license
21    was active. An individual with a license in retired status
22    shall not be required to complete professional development
23    activities or pay registration fees until returning to a
24    position that requires educator licensure. Upon returning
25    to work in a position that requires the Professional
26    Educator License, the licensee shall immediately pay a



10200SB3663sam002- 7 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1    registration fee and complete renewal requirements for
2    that year. A license in retired status cannot lapse.
3    Beginning on January 6, 2017 (the effective date of Public
4    Act 99-920) through December 31, 2017, any licensee who
5    has retired and whose license has lapsed for failure to
6    renew as provided in this Section may reinstate that
7    license and maintain it in retired status upon providing
8    proof to the State Board of Education using ELIS that the
9    licensee is retired and is not working in a position that
10    requires a Professional Educator License.
11        (7) For any renewal cycle in which professional
12    development hours were required, but not fulfilled, the
13    licensee shall complete any missed hours to total the
14    minimum professional development hours required in this
15    Section prior to September 1 of that year. Professional
16    development hours used to fulfill the minimum required
17    hours for a renewal cycle may be used for only one renewal
18    cycle. For any fiscal year or renewal cycle in which an
19    Illinois Administrators' Academy course was required but
20    not completed, the licensee shall complete any missed
21    Illinois Administrators' Academy courses prior to
22    September 1 of that year. The licensee may complete all
23    deficient hours and Illinois Administrators' Academy
24    courses while continuing to work in a position that
25    requires that license until September 1 of that year.
26        (8) Any licensee who has not fulfilled the



10200SB3663sam002- 8 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1    professional development renewal requirements set forth in
2    this Section at the end of any 5-year renewal cycle is
3    ineligible to register his or her license and may submit
4    an appeal to the State Superintendent of Education for
5    reinstatement of the license.
6        (9) If professional development opportunities were
7    unavailable to a licensee, proof that opportunities were
8    unavailable and request for an extension of time beyond
9    August 31 to complete the renewal requirements may be
10    submitted from April 1 through June 30 of that year to the
11    State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board. If an
12    extension is approved, the license shall remain valid
13    during the extension period.
14        (10) Individuals who hold exempt licenses prior to
15    December 27, 2013 (the effective date of Public Act
16    98-610) shall commence the annual renewal process with the
17    first scheduled registration due after December 27, 2013
18    (the effective date of Public Act 98-610).
19        (11) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
20    subsection (e), if a licensee earns more than the required
21    number of professional development hours during a renewal
22    cycle, then the licensee may carry over any hours earned
23    from April 1 through June 30 of the last year of the
24    renewal cycle. Any hours carried over in this manner must
25    be applied to the next renewal cycle. Illinois
26    Administrators' Academy courses or hours earned in those



10200SB3663sam002- 9 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1    courses may not be carried over.
2    (e-5) Subsection (e) does not apply for one year beginning
3on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd
4General Assembly, except that the number of professional
5development hours required under subsection (e) is reduced by
620% for any renewal cycle that includes the 2021-2022 school
8    (f) At the time of renewal, each licensee shall respond to
9the required questions under penalty of perjury.
10    (f-5) The State Board of Education shall conduct random
11audits of licensees to verify a licensee's fulfillment of the
12professional development hours required under this Section.
13Upon completion of a random audit, if it is determined by the
14State Board of Education that the licensee did not complete
15the required number of professional development hours or did
16not provide sufficient proof of completion, the licensee shall
17be notified that his or her license has lapsed. A license that
18has lapsed under this subsection may be reinstated as provided
19in subsection (b).
20    (g) The following entities shall be designated as approved
21to provide professional development activities for the renewal
22of Professional Educator Licenses:
23        (1) The State Board of Education.
24        (2) Regional offices of education and intermediate
25    service centers.
26        (3) Illinois professional associations representing



10200SB3663sam002- 10 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1    the following groups that are approved by the State
2    Superintendent of Education:
3            (A) school administrators;
4            (B) principals;
5            (C) school business officials;
6            (D) teachers, including special education
7        teachers;
8            (E) school boards;
9            (F) school districts;
10            (G) parents; and
11            (H) school service personnel.
12        (4) Regionally accredited institutions of higher
13    education that offer Illinois-approved educator
14    preparation programs and public community colleges subject
15    to the Public Community College Act.
16        (5) Illinois public school districts, charter schools
17    authorized under Article 27A of this Code, and joint
18    educational programs authorized under Article 10 of this
19    Code for the purposes of providing career and technical
20    education or special education services.
21        (6) A not-for-profit organization that, as of December
22    31, 2014 (the effective date of Public Act 98-1147), has
23    had or has a grant from or a contract with the State Board
24    of Education to provide professional development services
25    in the area of English Learning to Illinois school
26    districts, teachers, or administrators.



10200SB3663sam002- 11 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1        (7) State agencies, State boards, and State
2    commissions.
3        (8) Museums as defined in Section 10 of the Museum
4    Disposition of Property Act.
5    (h) Approved providers under subsection (g) of this
6Section shall make available professional development
7opportunities that satisfy at least one of the following:
8        (1) increase the knowledge and skills of school and
9    district leaders who guide continuous professional
10    development;
11        (2) improve the learning of students;
12        (3) organize adults into learning communities whose
13    goals are aligned with those of the school and district;
14        (4) deepen educator's content knowledge;
15        (5) provide educators with research-based
16    instructional strategies to assist students in meeting
17    rigorous academic standards;
18        (6) prepare educators to appropriately use various
19    types of classroom assessments;
20        (7) use learning strategies appropriate to the
21    intended goals;
22        (8) provide educators with the knowledge and skills to
23    collaborate;
24        (9) prepare educators to apply research to decision
25    making;
26        (10) provide educators with training on inclusive



10200SB3663sam002- 12 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1    practices in the classroom that examines instructional and
2    behavioral strategies that improve academic and
3    social-emotional outcomes for all students, with or
4    without disabilities, in a general education setting; or
5        (11) beginning on July 1, 2022, provide educators with
6    training on the physical and mental health needs of
7    students, student safety, educator ethics, professional
8    conduct, and other topics that address the well-being of
9    students and improve the academic and social-emotional
10    outcomes of students.
11    (i) Approved providers under subsection (g) of this
12Section shall do the following:
13        (1) align professional development activities to the
14    State-approved national standards for professional
15    learning;
16        (2) meet the professional development criteria for
17    Illinois licensure renewal;
18        (3) produce a rationale for the activity that explains
19    how it aligns to State standards and identify the
20    assessment for determining the expected impact on student
21    learning or school improvement;
22        (4) maintain original documentation for completion of
23    activities;
24        (5) provide license holders with evidence of
25    completion of activities;
26        (6) request an Illinois Educator Identification Number



10200SB3663sam002- 13 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1    (IEIN) for each educator during each professional
2    development activity; and
3        (7) beginning on July 1, 2019, register annually with
4    the State Board of Education prior to offering any
5    professional development opportunities in the current
6    fiscal year.
7    (j) The State Board of Education shall conduct annual
8audits of a subset of approved providers, except for school
9districts, which shall be audited by regional offices of
10education and intermediate service centers. The State Board of
11Education shall ensure that each approved provider, except for
12a school district, is audited at least once every 5 years. The
13State Board of Education may conduct more frequent audits of
14providers if evidence suggests the requirements of this
15Section or administrative rules are not being met.
16        (1) (Blank).
17        (2) Approved providers shall comply with the
18    requirements in subsections (h) and (i) of this Section by
19    annually submitting data to the State Board of Education
20    demonstrating how the professional development activities
21    impacted one or more of the following:
22            (A) educator and student growth in regards to
23        content knowledge or skills, or both;
24            (B) educator and student social and emotional
25        growth; or
26            (C) alignment to district or school improvement



10200SB3663sam002- 14 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1        plans.
2        (3) The State Superintendent of Education shall review
3    the annual data collected by the State Board of Education,
4    regional offices of education, and intermediate service
5    centers in audits to determine if the approved provider
6    has met the criteria and should continue to be an approved
7    provider or if further action should be taken as provided
8    in rules.
9    (k) Registration fees shall be paid for the next renewal
10cycle between April 1 and June 30 in the last year of each
115-year renewal cycle using ELIS. If all required professional
12development hours for the renewal cycle have been completed
13and entered by the licensee, the licensee shall pay the
14registration fees for the next cycle using a form of credit or
15debit card.
16    (l) Any professional educator licensee endorsed for school
17support personnel who is employed and performing services in
18Illinois public schools and who holds an active and current
19professional license issued by the Department of Financial and
20Professional Regulation or a national certification board, as
21approved by the State Board of Education, related to the
22endorsement areas on the Professional Educator License shall
23be deemed to have satisfied the continuing professional
24development requirements provided for in this Section. Such
25individuals shall be required to pay only registration fees to
26renew the Professional Educator License. An individual who



10200SB3663sam002- 15 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1does not hold a license issued by the Department of Financial
2and Professional Regulation shall complete professional
3development requirements for the renewal of a Professional
4Educator License provided for in this Section.
5    (m) Appeals to the State Educator Preparation and
6Licensure Board must be made within 30 days after receipt of
7notice from the State Superintendent of Education that a
8license will not be renewed based upon failure to complete the
9requirements of this Section. A licensee may appeal that
10decision to the State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
11in a manner prescribed by rule.
12        (1) Each appeal shall state the reasons why the State
13    Superintendent's decision should be reversed and shall be
14    sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
15    State Board of Education.
16        (2) The State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
17    shall review each appeal regarding renewal of a license
18    within 90 days after receiving the appeal in order to
19    determine whether the licensee has met the requirements of
20    this Section. The State Educator Preparation and Licensure
21    Board may hold an appeal hearing or may make its
22    determination based upon the record of review, which shall
23    consist of the following:
24            (A) the regional superintendent of education's
25        rationale for recommending nonrenewal of the license,
26        if applicable;



10200SB3663sam002- 16 -LRB102 22693 RJT 36559 a

1            (B) any evidence submitted to the State
2        Superintendent along with the individual's electronic
3        statement of assurance for renewal; and
4            (C) the State Superintendent's rationale for
5        nonrenewal of the license.
6        (3) The State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
7    shall notify the licensee of its decision regarding
8    license renewal by certified mail, return receipt
9    requested, no later than 30 days after reaching a
10    decision. Upon receipt of notification of renewal, the
11    licensee, using ELIS, shall pay the applicable
12    registration fee for the next cycle using a form of credit
13    or debit card.
14    (n) The State Board of Education may adopt rules as may be
15necessary to implement this Section.
16(Source: P.A. 101-85, eff. 1-1-20; 101-531, eff. 8-23-19;
17101-643, eff. 6-18-20; 102-676, eff. 12-3-21.)
18    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
19becoming law.".