(105 ILCS 5/2-3.25d-5)
    Sec. 2-3.25d-5. Priority and focus districts.
    (a) Beginning in 2015, school districts designated as priority districts shall be those that have one or more priority schools. "Priority school" is defined as:
        (1) a school that is among the lowest performing 5%
of schools in this State based on a 3-year average, with respect to the performance of the "all students" group for the percentage of students deemed proficient in English/language arts and mathematics combined, and demonstrates a lack of progress as defined by the State Board of Education;
        (2) a beginning secondary school that has an
average graduation rate of less than 60% over the last 3 school years; or
        (3) a school receiving a school improvement grant
under Section 1003(g) of the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965.
    The State Board of Education shall work with a priority district to perform a district needs assessment to determine the district's core functions that are areas of strength and weakness, unless the district is already undergoing a national accreditation process. The results from the district needs assessment shall be used by the district to identify goals and objectives for the district's improvement. The district needs assessment shall include a study of district functions, such as district finance, governance, student engagement, instruction practices, climate, community involvement, and continuous improvement.
    (b) Beginning in 2015, districts designated as focus districts shall be those that have one or more focus schools. "Focus school" means a school that is contributing to the achievement gaps in this State and is defined as:
        (1) a school that has one or more subgroups in
which the average student performance is at or below the State average for the lowest 10% of student performance in that subgroup; or
        (2) a school with an average graduation rate of
less than 60% and not identified for priority.
(Source: P.A. 99-193, eff. 7-30-15.)