(225 ILCS 447/20-15)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
    Sec. 20-15. Qualifications for licensure as a private alarm contractor agency.
    (a) Upon receipt of the required fee and proof that the applicant has a full-time Illinois licensed private alarm contractor licensee-in-charge, which is a continuing requirement for agency licensure, the Department shall issue a license as a private alarm contractor agency to any of the following:
        (1) An individual who submits an application and is a
    
licensed private alarm contractor under this Act.
        (2) A firm that submits an application and all of the
    
members of the firm are licensed private alarm contractors under this Act.
        (3) A corporation or limited liability company doing
    
business in Illinois that is authorized by its articles of incorporation or organization to engage in the business of conducting a private alarm contractor agency if at least one executive employee is licensed as a private alarm contractor under this Act and all unlicensed officers and directors of the corporation or limited liability company are determined by the Department to be persons of good moral character.
    (b) No private alarm contractor may be the licensee-in-charge for more than one private alarm contractor agency. Upon written request by a representative of an agency, within 10 days after the loss of a licensee-in-charge of an agency because of the death of that individual or because of the termination of the employment of that individual, the Department shall issue a temporary certificate of authority allowing the continuing operation of the licensed agency. No temporary certificate of authority shall be valid for more than 90 days. An extension of an additional 90 days may be granted upon written request by the representative of the agency. Not more than 2 extensions may be granted to any agency. No temporary permit shall be issued for loss of the licensee-in-charge because of disciplinary action by the Department related to his or her conduct on behalf of the agency.
    (c) No private alarm contractor, private alarm contractor agency, or person may install or connect an alarm system or fire alarm system that connects automatically and directly to a governmentally operated police or fire dispatch system in a manner that violates subsection (a) of Section 15.2 of the Emergency Telephone System Act. In addition to the penalties provided by the Emergency Telephone System Act, a private alarm contractor agency that violates this Section shall pay the Department an additional penalty of $250 per occurrence.
    (d) Upon issuance of the temporary certificate of authority as provided for in subsection (b) of this Section and at any time thereafter while the temporary certificate of authority is in effect, the Department may request in writing additional information from the agency regarding the loss of its licensee-in-charge, the selection of a new licensee-in-charge, and the management of the agency. Failure of the agency to respond or respond to the satisfaction of the Department shall cause the Department to deny any extension of the temporary certificate of authority. While the temporary certificate of authority is in effect, the Department may disapprove the selection of a new licensee-in-charge by the agency if the person's license is not operative or the Department has good cause to believe that the person selected will not fully exercise the responsibilities of a licensee-in-charge. If the Department has disapproved the selection of another new licensee-in-charge and the temporary certificate of authority expires or is about to expire without the agency selecting a new licensee-in-charge, the Department shall grant an extension of the temporary certificate of authority for an additional 90 days, except as otherwise prohibited in subsection (b) or this subsection (d).
(Source: P.A. 98-253, eff. 8-9-13.)