(325 ILCS 55/5)
(from Ch. 23, par. 2275)
(a) Upon notification by the Illinois State Police of a
child's disappearance, a school in which the child is currently or was
previously enrolled shall flag the record of that child in such a manner
that whenever a copy of or information regarding the record is requested,
the school shall be alerted to the fact that the record is that of a
missing child. The school shall immediately report to the local law
enforcement authority any request concerning flagged records or knowledge
as to the whereabouts of any missing child. Upon notification by the Illinois State Police
that the missing child has been recovered, the school shall
remove the flag from the person's record.
(b) Upon enrollment of a student for the first time in a particular
elementary or secondary school, that school shall notify in writing the
person enrolling the student that within 30 days he must provide either (1)
a certified copy of the student's birth certificate or (2) other reliable
proof, as determined by the Illinois State Police,
of the student's identity and age, and an affidavit explaining the
inability to produce a copy of the birth certificate.
Upon the failure of a person enrolling a student to comply with this
subsection, the school shall
immediately notify the local law enforcement agency and shall also
notify the person enrolling the student in writing that, unless he
complies within 10 days, the case shall be referred to the local law
enforcement authority for investigation. If compliance is not obtained
within that 10 day period, the school shall so refer the case.
The school shall immediately report to the local law enforcement authority
any affidavit received pursuant to this subsection which appears inaccurate
or suspicious in form or content.
(c) Within 14 days after enrolling a transfer student, the elementary or
secondary school shall request directly from the student's previous school
a certified copy of his record. The requesting school shall exercise due
diligence in obtaining the copy of the record requested. Any elementary
or secondary school requested to forward a copy of a transferring student's
record to the new school shall comply within 10 days of receipt of such
request unless the record has been flagged pursuant to subsection (a), in
which case the copy shall not be forwarded and the requested school shall
notify the local law enforcement authority of the request.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)