(430 ILCS 65/10)
(from Ch. 38, par. 83-10)
Appeals; hearing; relief from firearm prohibitions.
(a) Whenever an application for a Firearm Owner's Identification
Card is denied or whenever such a Card is revoked or seized
as provided for in Section 8 of this Act, the aggrieved party may
(1) file a record challenge with the Director regarding the record upon which the decision to deny or revoke the Firearm Owner's Identification Card was based under subsection (a-5); or (2) appeal
to the Director of the Illinois State Police through December 31, 2022, or beginning January 1, 2023, the Firearm Owner's Identification Card Review Board for a hearing seeking relief from
such denial or revocation unless the denial or revocation
was based upon a forcible felony, stalking, aggravated stalking, domestic
battery, any violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, or the
Cannabis Control Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony,
felony violation of Article 24 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or any
adjudication as a delinquent minor for the commission of an
offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony, in which case the
aggrieved party may petition the circuit court in writing in the county of
his or her residence for a hearing seeking relief from such denial or revocation.
(a-5) There is created a Firearm Owner's Identification Card Review Board to consider any appeal under subsection (a) beginning January 1, 2023, other than an appeal directed to the circuit court and except when the applicant is challenging the record upon which the decision to deny or revoke was based as provided in subsection (a-10).
(0.05) In furtherance of the policy of this Act that
the Board shall exercise its powers and duties in an independent manner, subject to the provisions of this Act but free from the direction, control, or influence of any other agency or department of State government. All expenses and liabilities incurred by the Board in the performance of its responsibilities hereunder shall be paid from funds which shall be appropriated to the Board by the General Assembly for the ordinary and contingent expenses of the Board.
(1) The Board shall consist of 7 members appointed by
the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, with 3 members residing within the First Judicial District and one member residing within each of the 4 remaining Judicial Districts. No more than 4 members shall be members of the same political party. The Governor shall designate one member as the chairperson. The Board shall consist of:
(A) one member with at least 5 years of service
as a federal or State judge;
(B) one member with at least 5 years of
experience serving as an attorney with the United States Department of Justice, or as a State's Attorney or Assistant State's Attorney;
(C) one member with at least 5 years of
experience serving as a State or federal public defender or assistant public defender;
(D) three members with at least 5 years of
experience as a federal, State, or local law enforcement agent or as an employee with investigative experience or duties related to criminal justice under the United States Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, Department of Homeland Security, Federal Bureau of Investigation, or a State or local law enforcement agency; and
(E) one member with at least 5 years of
experience as a licensed physician or clinical psychologist with expertise in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness.
(2) The terms of the members initially appointed
after January 1, 2022 (the effective date of Public Act 102-237) shall be as follows: one of the initial members shall be appointed for a term of one year, 3 shall be appointed for terms of 2 years, and 3 shall be appointed for terms of 4 years. Thereafter, members shall hold office for 4 years, with terms expiring on the second Monday in January immediately following the expiration of their terms and every 4 years thereafter. Members may be reappointed. Vacancies in the office of member shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, for the remainder of the unexpired term. The Governor may remove a member for incompetence, neglect of duty, malfeasance, or inability to serve. Members shall receive compensation in an amount equal to the compensation of members of the Executive Ethics Commission and may be reimbursed, from funds appropriated for such a purpose, for reasonable expenses actually incurred in the performance of their Board duties. The Illinois State Police shall designate an employee to serve as Executive Director of the Board and provide logistical and administrative assistance to the Board.
(3) The Board shall meet at least quarterly each year
and at the call of the chairperson as often as necessary to consider appeals of decisions made with respect to applications for a Firearm Owner's Identification Card under this Act. If necessary to ensure the participation of a member, the Board shall allow a member to participate in a Board meeting by electronic communication. Any member participating electronically shall be deemed present for purposes of establishing a quorum and voting.
(4) The Board shall adopt rules for the review of
appeals and the conduct of hearings. The Board shall maintain a record of its decisions and all materials considered in making its decisions. All Board decisions and voting records shall be kept confidential and all materials considered by the Board shall be exempt from inspection except upon order of a court.
(5) In considering an appeal, the Board shall review
the materials received concerning the denial or revocation by the Illinois State Police. By a vote of at least 4 members, the Board may request additional information from the Illinois State Police or the applicant or the testimony of the Illinois State Police or the applicant. The Board may require that the applicant submit electronic fingerprints to the Illinois State Police for an updated background check if the Board determines it lacks sufficient information to determine eligibility. The Board may consider information submitted by the Illinois State Police, a law enforcement agency, or the applicant. The Board shall review each denial or revocation and determine by a majority of members whether an applicant should be granted relief under subsection (c).
(6) The Board shall by order issue summary
decisions. The Board shall issue a decision within 45 days of receiving all completed appeal documents from the Illinois State Police and the applicant. However, the Board need not issue a decision within 45 days if:
(A) the Board requests information from the
applicant, including, but not limited to, electronic fingerprints to be submitted to the Illinois State Police, in accordance with paragraph (5) of this subsection, in which case the Board shall make a decision within 30 days of receipt of the required information from the applicant;
(B) the applicant agrees, in writing, to allow
the Board additional time to consider an appeal; or
(C) the Board notifies the applicant and the
Illinois State Police that the Board needs an additional 30 days to issue a decision. The Board may only issue 2 extensions under this subparagraph (C). The Board's notification to the applicant and the Illinois State Police shall include an explanation for the extension.
(7) If the Board determines that the applicant is
eligible for relief under subsection (c), the Board shall notify the applicant and the Illinois State Police that relief has been granted and the Illinois State Police shall issue the Card.
(8) Meetings of the Board shall not be subject to
the Open Meetings Act and records of the Board shall not be subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
(9) The Board shall report monthly to the Governor
and the General Assembly on the number of appeals received and provide details of the circumstances in which the Board has determined to deny Firearm Owner's Identification Cards under this subsection (a-5). The report shall not contain any identifying information about the applicants.
(a-10) Whenever an applicant or cardholder is not seeking relief from a firearms prohibition under subsection (c) but rather does not believe the applicant is appropriately denied or revoked and is challenging the record upon which the decision to deny or revoke the Firearm Owner's Identification Card was based, or whenever the Illinois State Police fails to act on an application within 30 days of its receipt, the applicant shall file such challenge with the Director. The Director shall render a decision within 60 business days of receipt of all information supporting the challenge. The Illinois State Police shall adopt rules for the review of a record challenge.
(b) At least 30 days before any hearing in the circuit court, the
petitioner shall serve the
relevant State's Attorney with a copy of the petition. The State's Attorney
may object to the petition and present evidence. At the hearing, the court
determine whether substantial justice has been done. Should the court
determine that substantial justice has not been done, the court shall issue an
order directing the Illinois State Police to issue a Card. However, the court shall not issue the order if the petitioner is otherwise prohibited from obtaining, possessing, or using a firearm under
(c) Any person prohibited from possessing a firearm under Sections 24-1.1
or 24-3.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012 or acquiring a Firearm Owner's
Identification Card under Section 8 of this Act may apply to
the Firearm Owner's Identification Card Review Board
or petition the circuit court in the county where the petitioner resides,
whichever is applicable in accordance with subsection (a) of this Section,
from such prohibition and the Board or court may grant such relief if it
established by the applicant to the court's or the Board's satisfaction
(0.05) when in the circuit court, the State's
Attorney has been served with a written copy of the petition at least 30 days before any such hearing in the circuit court and at the hearing the State's Attorney was afforded an opportunity to present evidence and object to the petition;
(1) the applicant has not been convicted of a
forcible felony under the laws of this State or any other jurisdiction within 20 years of the applicant's application for a Firearm Owner's Identification Card, or at least 20 years have passed since the end of any period of imprisonment imposed in relation to that conviction;
(2) the circumstances regarding a criminal
conviction, where applicable, the applicant's criminal history and his reputation are such that the applicant will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety;
(3) granting relief would not be contrary to the
(4) granting relief would not be contrary to federal
(c-5) (1) An active law enforcement officer employed by a unit of government or a Department of Corrections employee authorized to possess firearms who is denied, revoked, or has his or her Firearm Owner's Identification Card seized under subsection (e) of Section 8 of this Act may apply to the Firearm Owner's Identification Card Review Board requesting relief if the officer or employee did not act in a manner threatening to the officer or employee, another person, or the public as determined by the treating clinical psychologist or physician, and as a result of his or her work is referred by the employer for or voluntarily seeks mental health evaluation or treatment by a licensed clinical psychologist, psychiatrist, or qualified examiner, and:
(A) the officer or employee has not received
treatment involuntarily at a mental health facility, regardless of the length of admission; or has not been voluntarily admitted to a mental health facility for more than 30 days and not for more than one incident within the past 5 years; and
(B) the officer or employee has not left the mental
institution against medical advice.
(2) The Firearm Owner's Identification Card Review Board shall grant expedited relief to active law enforcement officers and employees described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (c-5) upon a determination by the Board that the officer's or employee's possession of a firearm does not present a threat to themselves, others, or public safety. The Board shall act on the request for relief within 30 business days of receipt of:
(A) a notarized statement from the officer or
employee in the form prescribed by the Board detailing the circumstances that led to the hospitalization;
(B) all documentation regarding the admission,
evaluation, treatment and discharge from the treating licensed clinical psychologist or psychiatrist of the officer;
(C) a psychological fitness for duty evaluation of
the person completed after the time of discharge; and
(D) written confirmation in the form prescribed by
the Board from the treating licensed clinical psychologist or psychiatrist that the provisions set forth in paragraph (1) of this subsection (c-5) have been met, the person successfully completed treatment, and their professional opinion regarding the person's ability to possess firearms.
(3) Officers and employees eligible for the expedited relief in paragraph (2) of this subsection (c-5) have the burden of proof on eligibility and must provide all information required. The Board may not consider granting expedited relief until the proof and information is received.
(4) "Clinical psychologist", "psychiatrist", and "qualified examiner" shall have the same meaning as provided in Chapter I of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code.
(c-10) (1) An applicant, who is denied, revoked, or has his or her Firearm Owner's Identification Card seized under subsection (e) of Section 8 of this Act based upon a determination of a developmental disability or an intellectual disability may apply to the Firearm Owner's Identification Card Review Board requesting relief.
(2) The Board shall act on the request for relief within 60 business days of receipt of written certification, in the form prescribed by the Board, from a physician or clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner, that the aggrieved party's developmental disability or intellectual disability condition is determined by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified to be mild. If a fact-finding conference is scheduled to obtain additional information concerning the circumstances of the denial or revocation, the 60 business days the Director has to act shall be tolled until the completion of the fact-finding conference.
(3) The Board may grant relief if the aggrieved party's developmental disability or intellectual disability is mild as determined by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner and it is established by the applicant to the Board's satisfaction that:
(A) granting relief would not be contrary to the
(B) granting relief would not be contrary to federal
(4) The Board may not grant relief if the condition is determined by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner to be moderate, severe, or profound.
(5) The changes made to this Section by Public Act 99-29 apply to requests for
relief pending on or before July 10, 2015 (the effective date of Public Act 99-29), except that the 60-day period for the Director to act on requests pending before the effective date shall begin
on July 10, 2015 (the effective date of Public Act 99-29). All appeals as provided in subsection (a-5) pending on January 1, 2023 shall be considered by the Board.
(d) When a minor is adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if
committed by an adult would be a felony, the court shall notify the Illinois State Police.
(e) The court shall review the denial of an application or the revocation of
a Firearm Owner's Identification Card of a person who has been adjudicated
delinquent for an offense that if
committed by an adult would be a felony if an
application for relief has been filed at least 10 years after the adjudication
of delinquency and the court determines that the applicant should be
granted relief from disability to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
If the court grants relief, the court shall notify the Illinois State
Police that the disability has
been removed and that the applicant is eligible to obtain a Firearm Owner's
(f) Any person who is subject to the disabilities of 18 U.S.C. 922(d)(4) and 922(g)(4) of the federal Gun Control Act of 1968 because of an adjudication or commitment that occurred under the laws of this State or who was determined to be subject to the provisions of subsections (e), (f), or (g) of Section 8 of this Act may apply to the Illinois State Police requesting relief from that prohibition. The Board shall grant the relief if it is established by a preponderance of the evidence that the person will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety and that granting relief would not be contrary to the public interest. In making this determination, the Board shall receive evidence concerning (i) the circumstances regarding the firearms disabilities from which relief is sought; (ii) the petitioner's mental health and criminal history records, if any; (iii) the petitioner's reputation, developed at a minimum through character witness statements, testimony, or other character evidence; and (iv) changes in the petitioner's condition or circumstances since the disqualifying events relevant to the relief sought. If relief is granted under this subsection or by order of a court under this Section, the Director shall as soon as practicable but in no case later than 15 business days, update, correct, modify, or remove the person's record in any database that the Illinois State Police makes available to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System and notify the United States Attorney General that the basis for the record being made available no longer applies. The Illinois State Police shall adopt rules for the administration of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-645, eff. 1-1-22; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)