(430 ILCS 65/9.5)
    Sec. 9.5. Revocation of Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
    (a) A person who receives a revocation notice under Section 9 of this Act shall, within 48 hours of receiving notice of the revocation:
        (1) surrender his or her Firearm Owner's
    
Identification Card to the local law enforcement agency where the person resides or to the Illinois State Police; and
        (2) complete a Firearm Disposition Record on a form
    
prescribed by the Illinois State Police and place his or her firearms in the location or with the person reported in the Firearm Disposition Record. The form shall require the person to disclose:
            (A) the make, model, and serial number of
        
each firearm owned by or under the custody and control of the revoked person;
            (B) the location where each firearm will be
        
maintained during the prohibited term;
            (C) if any firearm will be transferred to the
        
custody of another person, the name, address and Firearm Owner's Identification Card number of the transferee; and
            (D) to whom his or her Firearm Owner's
        
Identification Card was surrendered.
        Once completed, the person shall retain a copy and
    
provide a copy of the Firearm Disposition Record to the Illinois State Police.
    (b) Upon confirming through the portal created under Section 2605-304 of the Illinois State Police Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois that the Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been revoked by the Illinois State Police, surrendered cards shall be destroyed by the law enforcement agency receiving the cards. If a card has not been revoked, the card shall be returned to the cardholder.
    (b-5) If a court orders the surrender of a Firearms Owner's Identification Card and accepts receipt of the Card, the court shall destroy the Card and direct the person whose Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been surrendered to comply with paragraph (2) of subsection (a).
    (b-10) If the person whose Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been revoked has either lost or destroyed the Card, the person must still comply with paragraph (2) of subsection (a).
    (b-15) A notation shall be made in the portal created under Section 2605-304 of the Illinois State Police Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois that the revoked Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been destroyed.
    (c) If the person whose Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been revoked fails to comply with the requirements of this Section, the sheriff or law enforcement agency where the person resides may petition the circuit court to issue a warrant to search for and seize the Firearm Owner's Identification Card and firearms in the possession or under the custody or control of the person whose Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been revoked.
    (d) A violation of subsection (a) of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor.
    (e) The observation of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card in the possession of a person whose Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been revoked constitutes a sufficient basis for the arrest of that person for violation of this Section.
    (f) Within 30 days after July 9, 2013 (the effective date of Public Act 98-63), the Illinois State Police shall provide written notice of the requirements of this Section to persons whose Firearm Owner's Identification Cards have been revoked, suspended, or expired and who have failed to surrender their cards to the Illinois State Police.
    (g) A person whose Firearm Owner's Identification Card has been revoked and who received notice under subsection (f) shall comply with the requirements of this Section within 48 hours of receiving notice.
(Source: P.A. 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)