Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

10 ILCS 5/4-30

    (10 ILCS 5/4-30) (from Ch. 46, par. 4-30)
    Sec. 4-30. The county clerk on his own initiative or upon order of the county board shall at all times have authority to conduct investigation and to make canvasses of the registered voters in any precinct canvass or at other times and by other methods than those so prescribed. However, the county clerk shall at least once in every 2 years conduct a verification of voter registrations and shall cause the cancellation of registration of persons who have ceased to be qualified voters. Such verification shall be accomplished by one of the following methods: (1) precinct canvass conducted by 2 qualified persons of opposite party affiliation appointed by the county clerk or (2) written request for verification sent to each registered voter by first class mail, not forwardable or (3) an alternative method of verification submitted in writing to and approved by the State Board of Elections at a public meeting not less than 60 days prior to the date on which the county clerk has fixed for implementation of that method of verification; provided, that the county clerk shall submit to the State Board of Elections a written statement of the results obtained by use of such alternative method within 30 days of completion of the verification. Provided that in each precinct one canvasser may be appointed from outside such precinct if not enough other qualified persons who reside within the precinct can be found to serve as canvasser in such precinct. The one canvasser so appointed to serve in any precinct in which he is not entitled to vote prior to the election must be entitled to vote elsewhere within the ward, township or road district which includes within its boundaries the precinct in which such canvasser is appointed and such canvasser must be otherwise qualified. If upon the basis of investigation or canvasses, the county clerk shall be of the opinion that any person registered under this Article is not a qualified voter or has ceased to be a qualified voter, he shall send a notice through the United States mail to such person, requiring him to appear before the county clerk for a hearing within ten days after the date of mailing such notice and show cause why his registration shall not be cancelled. If such person fails to appear within such time as provided, his registration shall be cancelled. If such a person does appear, he shall make an affidavit similar in every respect to the affidavit required of applicants under Section 4-13 and his registration shall be reinstated.
    If the county clerk cancels such registration upon the voter failing to appear, the county clerk shall immediately request of the clerk of the city, village or incorporated town in which the person claimed residence, to return the triplicate card of registration of the said person and within twenty-four hours after receipt of said request, the said clerk shall mail or cause to be delivered to the county clerk the triplicate card of registration of the said person and the said triplicate card shall thereupon be cancelled by the county clerk.
(Source: P.A. 84-1308.)