Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

20 ILCS 5/5-20

    (20 ILCS 5/5-20) (was 20 ILCS 5/4)
    Sec. 5-20. Heads of departments. Each department shall have an officer as its head who shall be known as director or secretary and who shall, subject to the provisions of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois, execute the powers and discharge the duties vested by law in his or her respective department.
    The following officers are hereby created:
    Director of Aging, for the Department on Aging.
    Director of Agriculture, for the Department of Agriculture.
    Director of Central Management Services, for the Department of Central Management Services.
    Director of Children and Family Services, for the Department of Children and Family Services.
    Director of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, for the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity.
    Director of Corrections, for the Department of Corrections.
    Director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, for the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.
    Director of Employment Security, for the Department of Employment Security.
    Secretary of Financial and Professional Regulation, for the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
    Director of Healthcare and Family Services, for the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    Director of Human Rights, for the Department of Human Rights.
    Secretary of Human Services, for the Department of Human Services.
    Secretary of Innovation and Technology, for the Department of Innovation and Technology.
    Director of Insurance, for the Department of Insurance.
    Director of Juvenile Justice, for the Department of Juvenile Justice.
    Director of Labor, for the Department of Labor.
    Director of the Lottery, for the Department of the Lottery.
    Director of Natural Resources, for the Department of Natural Resources.
    Director of Public Health, for the Department of Public Health.
    Director of Revenue, for the Department of Revenue.
    Director of the Illinois State Police, for the Illinois State Police.
    Secretary of Transportation, for the Department of Transportation.
    Director of Veterans' Affairs, for the Department of Veterans' Affairs.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)