Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
20 ILCS 2610/14
(20 ILCS 2610/14)
(from Ch. 121, par. 307.14)
Except as is otherwise provided in this Act, no Illinois
State Police officer shall be removed, demoted, or suspended except for
cause, upon written charges filed with the Board by the Director and a hearing
before the Board thereon upon not less than 10 days' notice at a place to
be designated by the chairman thereof. At such hearing, the accused shall
be afforded full opportunity to be heard in his or her own defense and
to produce proof in his or her defense. It shall not be a requirement of a person filing a complaint against a State Police officer to have a complaint supported by a sworn affidavit or any other legal documentation. This ban on an affidavit requirement shall apply to any collective bargaining agreements entered after the effective date of this provision.
Before any such officer may be interrogated or examined by or before the
Board, or by an Illinois
State Police agent or investigator specifically assigned
to conduct an internal investigation, the results of which hearing,
or examination may be the basis for filing charges seeking his or her
suspension for more than 15 days or his or her removal or discharge,
he or she shall be advised in writing as to what specific improper or
illegal act he or she is alleged to have committed; he or she shall
be advised in writing that his or her admissions made in the course
of the hearing, interrogation, or examination may be used as the basis for
charges seeking his or her suspension, removal, or discharge; and he
or she shall be advised in writing that he or she has a right to
counsel of his or her choosing, who may be present to advise him or
her at any hearing, interrogation, or examination. A complete record of
any hearing, interrogation, or examination shall be made, and a complete
transcript or electronic recording thereof shall be made available to such
officer without charge and without delay.
The Board shall have the power to secure by its subpoena
both the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of books
and papers in support of the charges and for the defense. Each member of
the Board or a designated hearing officer shall have the power to administer
oaths or affirmations. If the charges against an accused are established
by a preponderance of evidence, the Board shall make a finding of guilty
and order either removal, demotion, suspension for a period of not more
than 180 days, or such other disciplinary punishment as may be prescribed
by the rules and regulations of the Board which, in the opinion of the members
thereof, the offense merits. Thereupon the
Director shall direct such removal or other punishment as ordered by the
Board and if the accused refuses to abide by any such disciplinary
order, the Director shall remove him or her forthwith.
If the accused is found not guilty or has served a period of suspension
greater than prescribed by the Board, the Board shall order that the officer receive compensation for the period involved.
The award of compensation shall include interest at the rate of 7% per
The Board may include in its order appropriate sanctions based upon the
Board's rules and regulations. If the Board finds that a party has made
allegations or denials without reasonable cause or has engaged in frivolous
litigation for the purpose of delay or needless increase in the cost of
litigation, it may order that party to pay the other party's reasonable
expenses, including costs and reasonable attorney's fees. The State of
Illinois and the Illinois
State Police shall be subject to these sanctions in the same
manner as other parties.
In case of the neglect or refusal of any person to obey a subpoena issued
by the Board, any circuit court, upon application
of any member of the Board, may order such person to appear before the Board
and give testimony or produce evidence, and any failure to obey such order
is punishable by the court as a contempt thereof.
The provisions of the Administrative Review Law, and all amendments and
modifications thereof, and the rules adopted pursuant thereto, shall apply
to and govern all proceedings for the judicial review of any order of the
Board rendered pursuant to the provisions of this Section.
Notwithstanding the provisions of this Section, a policy making
officer, as defined in the Employee Rights Violation Act, of the Illinois State Police shall be discharged from the Illinois State Police as
provided in the Employee Rights Violation Act, enacted by the 85th General
(Source: P.A. 101-652, eff. 7-1-21; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)