Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

20 ILCS 4120/15

    (20 ILCS 4120/15)
    Sec. 15. Council members.
    (a) The Council shall consist of 21 voting members. The Governor shall appoint one voting member, who shall act as the chairperson of the Council and serve as the representative of the Office of the Governor. The Governor, the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Minority Leader of the Senate, and the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall each appoint 4 members of the public to the Council, who shall also serve as voting members.
    (b) Appointing authorities shall ensure, to the maximum extent practicable, that the Council is diverse with respect to race, ethnicity, age, gender, faith, sexual orientation, language, country of origin, and geography.
    (c) Appointments to the Council shall be persons of recognized ability and experience in one or more of the following areas: higher education, business, international trade, law, social services, human services, immigration, refugee services, community development, or health care.
    (d) Appointed members of the Council shall serve 2-year terms. A member shall serve until his or her successor shall be appointed. Members of the Council shall not be entitled to compensation for their services as members.
    (e) The following officials shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the Council: the Deputy Director of the Office of Trade and Investment within the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, or his or her designee, and the Chief of the Bureau of Refugee and Immigrant Services within the Department of Human Services, or his or her designee.
    The following State agencies shall also each appoint a liaison to serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member of the Council: the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, the Department of Human Services, the Department on Aging, the Department of Children and Family Services, the Department of Healthcare and Family Services, the Department of Public Health, the Department of Central Management Services, the Illinois State Board of Education, the Illinois Board of Higher Education, and the Illinois Community College Board.
    (f) The Council may establish committees that address certain issues, including, but not limited to, communications, economic development, and legislative affairs.
    (g) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 102-1058, eff. 1-1-23; 102-1129, eff. 2-10-23.)