Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(35 ILCS 5/225)
Credit for instructional materials and supplies.
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2017, a taxpayer shall be allowed a credit in the amount paid by the taxpayer during the taxable year for instructional materials and supplies with respect to classroom based instruction in a qualified school, or the maximum credit amount, whichever is less, provided that the taxpayer is a teacher, instructor, counselor, principal, or aide in a qualified school for at least 900 hours during a school year.
The credit may not be carried back and may not reduce the taxpayer's liability to less than zero. If the amount of the credit exceeds the tax liability for the year, the excess may be carried forward and applied to the tax liability of the 5 taxable years following the excess credit year. The tax credit shall be applied to the earliest year for which there is a tax liability. If there are credits for more than one year that are available to offset a liability, the earlier credit shall be applied first.
For purposes of this Section, the term "materials and supplies" means amounts paid for instructional materials or supplies that are designated for classroom use in any qualified school. For purposes of this Section, the term "qualified school" means a public school or non-public school located in Illinois.
For purposes of this Section, the term "maximum credit amount" means (i) $250 for taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 2023 and (ii) $500 for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023.
This Section is exempt from the provisions of Section 250.
(Source: P.A. 102-700, eff. 4-19-22.)