Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

35 ILCS 115/19

    (35 ILCS 115/19) (from Ch. 120, par. 439.119)
    Sec. 19. As to any claim for credit or refund filed with the Department on or after each January 1 and July 1, no amount of tax or penalty or interest erroneously paid (either in total or partial liquidation of a tax or penalty or interest under this Act) more than 3 years prior to such January 1 and July 1, respectively, shall be credited or refunded, except that if both the Department and taxpayer have agreed to an extension of time to issue a notice of tax liability as provided in Section 4 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, such claim may be filed at any time prior to the expiration of the period agreed upon. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act to the contrary, for any period included in a claim for credit or refund for which the statute of limitations for issuing a notice of tax liability under this Act will expire less than 6 months after the date a taxpayer files the claim for credit or refund, the statute of limitations is automatically extended for 6 months from the date it would have otherwise expired. No claim shall be allowed for any amount paid to the Department, whether paid voluntarily or involuntarily, if paid in total or partial liquidation of an assessment which had become final before the claim for credit or refund to recover the amount so paid is filed with the Department, or if paid in total or partial liquidation of a judgment or order of court.
(Source: P.A. 102-40, eff. 6-25-21.)