Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

35 ILCS 200/14-30

    (35 ILCS 200/14-30)
    Sec. 14-30. Hearings on revisions or corrections; public records. In all counties, all hearings held by the chief county assessment officer in support of or in opposition to a proposed revision or correction in assessed valuation shall be open to the public. All files maintained by the chief county assessment officer relating to the assessed valuation of any property, and all complaints, supporting documents, and other evidence submitted by the complainant shall be available for public inspection during regular office hours of the chief county assessment officer.
    If a property owner wishes to support his or her request for a revision or correction of valuation by facts set forth in income tax returns, he or she shall submit the entire return to the chief county assessment officer. However, only the portions of the return relating to the property for which a revision or correction is requested shall be a public record. If requested by the chief county assessment officer, the property owner shall execute a consent in favor of the chief county assessment officer instructing the taxing body with which the income tax return was filed to furnish a certified copy of the return so that the accuracy of the copy submitted to the chief county assessment officer may be verified.
    The chief county assessment officer shall promptly furnish to any person copies of all complaints, supporting documents and other evidence submitted by a complainant, subject to the foregoing qualification, and all public records of the chief county assessment officer for a fee of 35 cents per page of legal size or smaller and $1 for each larger page.
(Source: P.A. 77-1709; 88-455.)