Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
35 ILCS 200/18-177
(35 ILCS 200/18-177)
Leased low-rent housing abatement.
(a) In counties of 3,000,000
or more inhabitants, the county clerk shall abate property taxes levied by
any taxing district under this Code on property that meets the following
(1) The property does not qualify as exempt property
under Section 15-95 of this Code.
(2) The property is situated in a municipality with
1,000,000 or more inhabitants and improved with either a multifamily dwelling or a multi-building development that is subject to a leasing agreement, regulatory and operating agreement, or other similar instrument with a Housing Authority created under the Housing Authorities Act that sets forth the terms for leasing low-rent housing.
(3) For a period of not less than 20 years, the
property and improvements are used solely for low-rent housing and related uses.
Property and portions of property used or intended to be used for
commercial purposes are not eligible for the abatement provided in this
A housing authority created under the Housing Authorities Act shall
file annually with the county clerk for any property eligible for an abatement
under this Section, on a form prescribed by the county clerk, a certificate of
the property's use during the immediately preceding year. The certificate
shall certify that the property or a portion of the property meets the
requirements of this Section and that the eligible residential units have been
inspected within the previous 90 days and meet or exceed all housing quality
standards of the authority. If only a portion of the property meets these
requirements, the certificate shall state the amount of that portion as a
percentage of the total equalized and assessed value of the property. If the
property is improved with an eligible multifamily dwelling or multi-building
development containing residential units that are individually assessed, then, except as provided in subsection (b), no
more than 40% of those residential units may be certified. If the property is
improved with an eligible multifamily dwelling or multi-building development
containing residential units that are not individually assessed, then, except as provided in subsection (b), the portion
of the property certified shall represent no more than 40% of those residential
The county clerk shall abate the taxes only if a certificate of use has
been timely filed for that year. If only a portion of the property has been
certified as eligible, the county clerk shall abate the taxes in the percentage
Whenever property receives an abatement under this Section, the rental rate
set under the lease, regulatory and operating agreement, or other similar
instrument for that property shall not include property taxes.
No property shall be eligible for abatement under this Section if the owner
of the property has any outstanding and overdue debts to the municipality in
which the property is situated.
(b) The percentage limitation on the certification of residential units set forth in subsection (a) shall be deemed to be satisfied in the case of developments described in resolutions adopted by the Board of Commissioners of the Chicago Housing Authority on September 19, 2000, December 17, 2002, or September 16, 2003, as amended, approving the disposition of certain land and buildings on which all or a portion of the developments are or will be situated, if no more than 50% of the units in the development are so certified.
(Source: P.A. 94-296, eff. 7-21-05.)