Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
40 ILCS 5/1A-113
(40 ILCS 5/1A-113)
(a) A pension fund that fails, without just cause, to file its annual
statement within the time prescribed under Section 1A-109 shall pay to the
Department a penalty to be determined by the Department, which shall not exceed
$100 for each day's delay.
(b) A pension fund that fails, without just cause, to file its actuarial
statement within the time prescribed under Section 1A-110 or 1A-111 shall pay
to the Department a penalty to be determined by the Department, which shall not
exceed $100 for each day's delay.
(c) A pension fund that fails to pay a fee within the time prescribed under
Section 1A-112 shall pay to the Department a penalty of 5% of the amount of the
fee for each month or part of a month that the fee is late. The entire penalty
shall not exceed 25% of the fee due.
(d) This subsection applies to any governmental unit, as defined in Section
1A-102, that is subject to any law establishing a pension fund or retirement
system for the benefit of employees of the governmental unit.
Whenever the Division determines by examination, investigation, or in any
other manner that the governing body or any elected or appointed officer or
official of a governmental unit has failed to comply with any provision of that
(1) The Director shall notify in writing the
governing body, officer, or official of the specific provision or provisions of the law with which the person has failed to comply.
(2) Upon receipt of the notice, the person notified
shall take immediate steps to comply with the provisions of law specified in the notice.
(3) If the person notified fails to comply within a
reasonable time after receiving the notice, the Director may hold a hearing at which the person notified may show cause for noncompliance with the law.
(4) If upon hearing the Director determines that good
and sufficient cause for noncompliance has not been shown, the Director may order the person to submit evidence of compliance within a specified period of not less than 30 days.
(5) If evidence of compliance has not been submitted
to the Director within the period of time prescribed in the order and no administrative appeal from the order has been initiated, the Director may assess a civil penalty of up to $2,000 against the governing body, officer, or official for each noncompliance with an order of the Director.
The Director shall develop by rule, with as much specificity as
practicable, the standards and criteria to be used in assessing penalties and
their amounts. The standards and criteria shall include, but need not be
limited to, consideration of evidence of efforts made in good faith to comply
with applicable legal requirements. This rulemaking is subject to the
provisions of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act.
If a penalty is not paid within 30 days of the date of assessment, the
Director without further notice shall report the act of noncompliance to the
Attorney General of this State. It shall be the duty of the Attorney General
or, if the Attorney General so designates, the State's Attorney of the county
in which the governmental unit is located to apply promptly by complaint on
relation of the Director of Insurance in the name of the people of the State of
Illinois, as plaintiff, to the circuit court of the county in which the
governmental unit is located for enforcement of the penalty prescribed in this
subsection or for such additional relief as the nature of the case and the
interest of the employees of the governmental unit or the public may require.
(e) Whoever knowingly makes a false certificate, entry, or memorandum upon
any of the books or papers pertaining to any pension fund or upon any
statement, report, or exhibit filed or offered for file with the Division or
the Director of Insurance in the course of any examination, inquiry, or
investigation, with intent to deceive the Director, the Division, or any of its
employees is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(f) Subsections (b) and (c) shall apply to pension funds established under Article 3 or Article 4 of this Code only prior to the conclusion of the transition period, and this Section shall not apply to the Consolidated Funds.
(Source: P.A. 101-610, eff. 1-1-20.)