Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
40 ILCS 5/6-150
(40 ILCS 5/6-150)
(from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 6-150)
(a) Effective January 1, 1962, an ordinary death benefit shall
be payable on account of any fireman in service and in receipt of salary on
or after such date, which benefit shall be in addition to all other
annuities and benefits herein provided. This benefit shall be payable upon
death of a fireman:
(1) occurring in active service while in receipt of
(2) on an authorized and approved leave of absence,
without salary, beginning on or after January 1, 1962, if the death occurs within 60 days from the date the fireman was in receipt of salary;
(3) receiving duty, occupational disease, or ordinary
(4) occurring within 60 days from the date of
termination of duty disability, occupational disease disability or ordinary disability benefit payments if re-entry into service had not occurred; or
(5) occurring on retirement and while in receipt of
an age and service annuity, prior service annuity, Tier 2 monthly retirement annuity, or minimum annuity; provided (a) retirement on such annuity occurred on or after January 1, 1962, and (b) such separation from service was effective on or after the fireman's attainment of age 50, and (c) application for such annuity was made within 60 days after separation from service.
(b) The ordinary death benefit shall be payable to such beneficiary or
beneficiaries as the fireman has nominated by written direction duly signed
and acknowledged before an officer authorized to take acknowledgments, and
filed with the board. If no such written direction has been filed or if the
designated beneficiaries do not survive the fireman, payment of the benefit
shall be made to his estate.
(c) Beginning July 1, 1983, if death occurs prior to retirement on
annuity and before the
fireman's attainment of age 50, the amount of the benefit payable shall be
$12,000. Beginning July 1, 1983, if death occurs prior
to retirement, at age 50 or over, the benefit
of $12,000 shall be reduced $400 for each year
(commencing on the fireman's
attainment of age 50 and thereafter on each succeeding birth date) that the
fireman's age, at date of death, is more than age 49, but in no event below
the amount of $6,000.
Beginning July 1, 1983, if the fireman's death occurs while he is in
receipt of an annuity, the
benefit shall be $6,000.
(d) For the purposes of this Section only, the death of any fireman as a result of the exposure to and contraction of COVID-19, as evidenced by either (i) a confirmed positive laboratory test for COVID-19 or COVID-19 antibodies or (ii) a confirmed diagnosis of COVID-19 from a licensed medical professional, shall be rebuttably presumed to have been contracted while in the performance of an act or acts of duty and the fireman shall be rebuttably presumed to have been fatally injured while in active service. The presumption shall apply to any fireman who was exposed to and contracted COVID-19 on or after March 9, 2020 and on or before June 30, 2021 (including the period between December 31, 2020 and the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly); except that the presumption shall not apply if the fireman was on a leave of absence from his or her employment or otherwise not required to report for duty for a period of 14 or more consecutive days immediately prior to the date of contraction of COVID-19. For the purposes of determining when a fireman contracted COVID-19 under this subsection, the date of contraction is either the date that the fireman was diagnosed with COVID-19 or was unable to work due to symptoms that were later diagnosed as COVID-19, whichever occurred first.
(Source: P.A. 101-633, eff. 6-5-20; 101-653, eff. 2-28-21.)