Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

50 ILCS 705/10.6

    (50 ILCS 705/10.6)
    (This Section may contain text from a Public Act with a delayed effective date)
    Sec. 10.6. Mandatory training to be completed every 3 years. The Board shall adopt rules and minimum standards for in-service training requirements as set forth in this Section. The training shall provide officers with knowledge of policies and laws regulating the use of force; equip officers with tactics and skills, including de-escalation techniques, to prevent or reduce the need to use force or, when force must be used, to use force that is objectively reasonable, necessary, and proportional under the totality of the circumstances; and ensure appropriate supervision and accountability. The training shall consist of at least 30 hours of training every 3 years and shall include:
        (1) At least 12 hours of hands-on, scenario-based
        (2) At least 6 hours of instruction on use of force
techniques, including the use of de-escalation techniques to prevent or reduce the need for force whenever safe and feasible.
        (3) Specific training on the law concerning stops,
searches, and the use of force under the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution.
        (4) Specific training on officer safety techniques,
including cover, concealment, and time.
        (5) At least 6 hours of training focused on high-risk
traffic stops.
(Source: P.A. 101-652, eff. 7-1-21.)