Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

50 ILCS 752/20

    (50 ILCS 752/20)
    Sec. 20. Board of directors. IPSAN shall be governed by a board of directors. The IPSAN Board shall consist of 6 voting members. Three members shall be appointed by the Illinois Sheriffs' Association, and 3 members shall be appointed by the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police. To the extent practical, voting members should be active or retired chiefs of police or sheriffs, should represent Statewide interests of the Associations that appointed them, and should attend board meetings. The Director of Corrections, the Director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, the Director of the Illinois State Police, the Sheriff of Cook County, and the Superintendent of the Chicago Police Department, or the designee of each, may be invited by the board of directors to serve as non-voting ex officio members. The Executive Director appointed under Section 30 of this Act shall serve as a non-voting ex-officio member of the board.
    Members shall serve terms of one year at the pleasure of the Association making the appointment, but shall be eligible for re-appointment. A vacancy among members appointed shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the remainder of the vacated term.
    Members of the Board shall receive no compensation but shall be reimbursed for reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. However, a board member who is a retired chief of police or retired sheriff may be entitled to reimbursement for services provided to or on behalf of IPSAN as may be appropriate.
    The Board shall designate a temporary president of the Board from among the members, who shall serve until a permanent president is elected by the Board of Directors. The Board shall meet at the call of the president, or as otherwise provided in the bylaws, rules, and policies of the board.
    IPSAN shall comply with reporting requirements under the General Not for Profit Corporation Act of 1986 and related regulations promulgated by the Secretary of State. The Executive Director appointed under Section 30 of this Act shall have the authority to sign and file all required reports.
(Source: P.A. 98-745, eff. 7-16-14.)