Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

55 ILCS 5/3-3016

    (55 ILCS 5/3-3016) (from Ch. 34, par. 3-3016)
    Sec. 3-3016. Sudden unexpected infant death and sudden infant death syndrome. Where an infant under one year of age has died suddenly and unexpectedly and the circumstances concerning the death are unexplained following investigation, an autopsy shall be performed by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches who has special training in pathology. When an autopsy is conducted under this Section, the parents or guardian of the child shall receive a preliminary report of the autopsy within 5 days of the infant's death. All suspected sudden unexpected infant death and sudden infant death syndrome cases shall be reported to the Statewide Sudden Unexpected Infant Death Program within 72 hours.
    Death certificates shall list the cause of death as sudden unexpected infant death or sudden infant death syndrome where this finding is medically justified pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health. Copies of death certificates which list the cause of death of infants under one year of age as sudden unexpected infant death or sudden infant death syndrome shall be forwarded to the Department of Public Health within 30 days of the death with a report which shall include an autopsy report, epidemiological data required by the Department and other pertinent data.
(Source: P.A. 101-338, eff. 1-1-20.)