Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

70 ILCS 605/4-5

    (70 ILCS 605/4-5) (from Ch. 42, par. 4-5)
    Sec. 4-5. Election of Commissioners in Districts organized under Farm Drainage Act and certain other Districts. Commissioners for all districts which, at the time this Act becomes effective, are operating and existing under the provisions of the Farm Drainage Act, shall be elected by the adult owners of land in the district in the manner provided by this Section unless the landowners have elected to change from the election to the appointment of commissioners in the manner provided in Section 4-6.
    An election shall be held in all combined, union, special, user, mutual or other districts which were operating and existing under the Farm Drainage Act at the time this Act became effective and in districts which have changed from the appointment to the election of commissioners as provided in Section 4-8, on the first Tuesday in September 1956 and annually thereafter for the purpose of electing a successor to the commissioner whose term will next expire. Commissioners so elected shall serve for a term of 3 years from the date of their election and until their successors have been elected and have qualified.
    In any case where the commissioners have failed to give notice and to hold an election as provided in this Section, the circuit court of the county in which the district is organized may, on the petition of any owner of land in the district, designate the time and place for a special election. Any commissioner elected at such special election shall serve for the remainder of the term expiring 3 years from the date on which the election should have been held and until his successor is elected and has qualified.
    The commissioners in office shall designate the place within the district at which the election will be held and they shall file such designation in writing with the clerk of the circuit court at least four weeks prior to the date of the election. The clerk shall give at least two weeks notice of the time and place of the election by publication for 2 successive weeks in the manner provided by Section 4-22. Notice by mailing shall not be required.
    Voting shall be by secret ballot. The clerk shall cause the ballots to be prepared. The ballots shall show on their face the name of the district, the date of the election, the term for which a commissioner is to be elected, the names of the declared candidates and a blank line for write-in candidates. A square shall appear before each name and before the blank line. The reverse side of the ballot shall show the official nature of the ballot by the certificate of the clerk.
    Every adult owner of land in the district shall be entitled to vote. Any qualified person may declare his candidacy for the office of commissioner and thereby become entitled to have his name placed on the ballot by filing a statement of his candidacy in writing with the clerk at least 3 weeks prior to the date of the election.
    The commissioners in office at the time of the election shall be the judges of the election. In the event that one or more of the commissioners is absent or refuses to serve as judge then the electors present at the opening of the polls may choose a person or persons to fill the vacancy or vacancies. The polls shall open at 2:00 P.M. and close at 4:00 P.M. unless the judges of election shall determine to hold the polls open a longer period to accommodate the voters. In no event shall the polls remain open later than 6:00 P.M.
    Upon the closing of the polls the judges of election shall promptly canvass the ballots and the ballots together with the poll books, tally lists and the results shall be returned to the clerk within 48 hours after the election. The candidate receiving the largest number of votes shall be declared elected. In case of a tie the judges shall determine by lot who is elected. The expense of the election shall be borne by the district.
    In the event that a vacancy occurs in the office of commissioner whether by death, ineligibility, removal from office or failure to qualify the commissioners in office shall fill the vacancy by appointment. The commissioner so appointed shall serve until the next annual election. If the unexpired term caused by such vacancy be for more than one year then, at the next annual election, the adult landowners shall elect a commissioner to complete the then unexpired portion of the term in addition to electing a commissioner for a regular term.
    Commissioners elected under this Section shall, within 20 days after their election, qualify by subscribing to an oath of office and giving bond, in the manner provided in Section 4-4.
(Source: P.A. 86-297.)