Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

70 ILCS 755/10

    (70 ILCS 755/10)
    Sec. 10. Commissioners.
    (a) The affairs of the district shall be managed by a board of 7 commissioners: one shall be appointed by the chairperson of the county board; one shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City of Beardstown; one shall be appointed by the Beardstown Sanitary District; one shall be appointed by the South Beardstown Levee and Drainage District; one shall be appointed by the Valley Levee and Drainage District; one shall be appointed by the Lost Creek Levee and Drainage District; and one shall be appointed by a majority vote of the other 6 commissioners. All initial appointments under this Section must be made within 60 days after the district is organized.
    (b) Of the initial appointments, 3 commissioners shall serve a 2-year term and 4 commissioners shall serve a 4-year term, as determined by lot. Their successors shall be appointed for 4-year terms. No commissioner may serve for more than 20 years. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as original appointments.
    (c) Each commissioner must be a legal voter in Cass County, and all commissioners shall reside in and own property that is located within the district. Commissioners shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.
    (d) A majority of the commissioners shall constitute a quorum of the board for the transaction of business. An affirmative vote of a majority of the commissioners shall be sufficient to approve any action or expenditure.
    (e) An alderperson of the City of Beardstown, a member of the county board, and a commissioner of each of the aforementioned drainage districts and sanitation district may be appointed to serve concurrently as commissioners of the district, and the appointment shall be deemed lawful and not to constitute a violation of the Public Officer Prohibited Activities Act, nor to create an impermissible conflict of interest or incompatibility of offices.
(Source: P.A. 102-15, eff. 6-17-21.)