Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

70 ILCS 3610/3

    (70 ILCS 3610/3) (from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 353)
    Sec. 3. Creation of a district. For the purpose of acquiring, constructing, owning, operating and maintaining mass transit facilities for public service or subsidizing the operation thereof a local Mass Transit District may be created, composed of one or more municipalities or one or more counties or any combination thereof, by ordinance approved by a majority vote of the corporate authorities or by resolution approved by a majority vote of the county board of each participating municipality and county. A Metro East Mass Transit District created by one or more counties shall include: (1) those townships which were served by regularly scheduled mass transit routes operated by an interstate transportation authority on June 1, 1980; (2) in the case of a county without townships, any municipality or unincorporated portion of a road district which was served by regularly scheduled mass transit routes operated by an interstate transportation authority on June 1, 1980; (3) any other townships or municipalities whose participation is approved by ordinance adopted by a majority vote of their Board of Trustees or corporate authorities; plus (4) in the case of a county without townships, the unincorporated portion of any road district, the participation of which is approved by an ordinance adopted by a majority vote of the Board of Commissioners of the county in which it is located. Such District shall be known as the ".... Mass Transit District", inserting all or any significant part of the name or names of the municipality or the county, or both, creating the District, or a name descriptive of the area to be served if the District is created by more than one municipality, more than one county, or any combination thereof. A Southeast Commuter Rail Transit District shall include: the Village of Crete, the Village of Steger, the Village of South Chicago Heights, the City of Chicago Heights, the Village of Glenwood, the Village of Thornton, the Village of South Holland, the Village of Dolton, the City of Calumet City, the Village of Lansing, and the Village of Lynwood. A Northwest Metra Commuter Rail District shall include all municipalities located within McHenry County.
    The District created pursuant to this Act shall be a municipal corporation and shall have the right of eminent domain to acquire private property which is necessary for the purposes of the District, and shall have the power to contract for public mass transportation with an Interstate Transportation Authority.
    Upon the creation of any District, the clerk of the municipality or of the county, or the clerks of the several municipalities or counties, as the case may be, shall certify a copy of the ordinance or resolution creating the District, and the names of the persons first appointed Trustees thereof, and shall file the same with the county clerk for recording as certificates of incorporation and the county clerk shall cause duplicate certified copies thereof to be filed with the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 96-1542, eff. 3-8-11; 97-1116, eff. 1-1-13.)