Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

105 ILCS 5/27-24.9

    (105 ILCS 5/27-24.9)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-951)
    Sec. 27-24.9. Driver education standards. The State Board of Education, in consultation with the Secretary of State, shall adopt course content standards for driver education for those persons under the age of 18 years, which shall include the operation and equipment of motor vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 97-1025, eff. 1-1-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-951)
    Sec. 27-24.9. Driver education standards. The State Board of Education, in consultation with the Secretary of State, an association representing teachers of driver education, students, education practitioners, including, but not limited to, teachers in colleges of education, administrators, and regional superintendents of schools, shall adopt rigorous learning standards for the classroom and laboratory phases of driver education for novice teen drivers under the age of 18 years, including, but not limited to, the Novice Teen Driver Education and Training Administrative Standards developed and written by the Association of National Stakeholders in Traffic Safety Education in affiliation with the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration. The national learning standards may be adapted to meet Illinois licensing and educational requirements, including classroom and behind-the-wheel hours and the cognitive, physiological, and psychological aspects of the safe operation of a motor vehicle and equipment of motor vehicles. As the national standards are updated, the Board shall update these learning standards.
(Source: P.A. 102-951, eff. 1-1-23.)