Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(110 ILCS 27/20)
All institutions offering dual credit courses shall meet the following standards:
(1) High school instructors teaching credit-bearing
college-level courses for dual credit must meet any of the academic credential requirements set forth in this paragraph or paragraph (2) or (3) of this Section and need not meet higher certification requirements or those set out in Article 21B of the School Code:
(A) Approved instructors of dual credit courses
shall meet any of the faculty credential standards allowed by the Higher Learning Commission to determine minimally qualified faculty. At the request of an instructor, an instructor who meets these credential standards shall be provided by the State Board of Education with a Dual Credit Endorsement, to be placed on the professional educator license, as established by the State Board of Education and as authorized under Article 21B of the School Code and promulgated through administrative rule in cooperation with the Illinois Community College Board and the Board of Higher Education.
(B) An instructor who does not meet the faculty
credential standards allowed by the Higher Learning Commission to determine minimally qualified faculty may teach dual credit courses if the instructor has a professional development plan, approved by the institution and shared with the State Board of Education, within 4 years of January 1, 2019 (the effective date of Public Act 100-1049), to raise his or her credentials to be in line with the credentials under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph (1). The institution shall have 30 days to review the plan and approve an instructor professional development plan that is in line with the credentials set forth in paragraph (2) of this Section. The institution shall not unreasonably withhold approval of a professional development plan. These approvals shall be good for as long as satisfactory progress toward the completion of the credential is demonstrated, but in no event shall a professional development plan be in effect for more than 3 years from the date of its approval. A high school instructor whose professional development plan is not approved by the institution may appeal to the Illinois Community College Board or the Board of Higher Education, as appropriate.
(C) The Illinois Community College Board shall
report yearly on its Internet website the number of teachers who have approved professional development plans under this Section.
(2) A high school instructor shall qualify for a
professional development plan if the instructor:
(A) has a master's degree in any discipline and
has earned 9 graduate hours in a discipline in which he or she is currently teaching or expects to teach; or
(B) has a bachelor's degree with a minimum of 18
graduate hours in a discipline that he or she is currently teaching or expects to teach and is enrolled in a discipline-specific master's degree program; and
(C) agrees to demonstrate his or her progress
toward completion to the supervising institution, as outlined in the professional development plan.
(3) An instructor in career and technical education
courses must possess the credentials and demonstrated teaching competencies appropriate to the field of instruction.
(4) Course content must be equivalent to
credit-bearing college-level courses offered at the community college.
(5) Learning outcomes must be the same as
credit-bearing college-level courses and be appropriately measured.
(6) A high school instructor is expected to
participate in any orientation developed by the institution for dual credit instructors in course curriculum, assessment methods, and administrative requirements.
(7) Dual credit instructors must be given the
opportunity to participate in all activities available to other adjunct faculty, including professional development, seminars, site visits, and internal communication, provided that such opportunities do not interfere with an instructor's regular teaching duties.
(8) Every dual credit course must be reviewed
annually by faculty through the appropriate department to ensure consistency with campus courses.
(9) Dual credit students must be assessed using
methods consistent with students in traditional credit-bearing college courses.
(Source: P.A. 102-558, eff. 8-20-21.)