Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

110 ILCS 520/6.6

    (110 ILCS 520/6.6)
    Sec. 6.6. The Illinois Ethanol Research Advisory Board.
    (a) There is established the Illinois Ethanol Research Advisory Board (the "Advisory Board").
    (b) The Advisory Board shall be composed of 14 members including: the President of Southern Illinois University who shall be Chairman; the Director of Commerce and Economic Opportunity; the Director of Agriculture; the President of the Illinois Corn Growers Association; the President of the National Corn Growers Association; the President of the Renewable Fuels Association; the Dean of the College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Science, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana; the Dean of the College of Agricultural, Life, and Physical Sciences, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale; and 6 at-large members appointed by the Governor representing the ethanol industry, growers, suppliers, and universities.
    (c) The 6 at-large members shall serve a term of 4 years. The Advisory Board shall meet at least annually or at the call of the Chairman. At any time a majority of the Advisory Board may petition the Chairman for a meeting of the Board. Seven members of the Advisory Board shall constitute a quorum.
    (d) The Advisory Board shall:
        (1) Review the annual operating plans and budget of
the National Corn-to-Ethanol Research Pilot Plant.
        (2) Advise on research and development priorities and
projects to be carried out at the Corn-to-Ethanol Research Pilot Plant.
        (3) Advise on policies and procedures regarding the
management and operation of the ethanol research pilot plant. This may include contracts, project selection, and personnel issues.
        (4) Develop bylaws.
        (5) Submit a final report to the Governor and General
Assembly outlining the progress and accomplishments made during the year along with a financial report for the year.
        (6) Establish and operate, subject to specific
appropriation for the purpose of providing facility operating funds, the National Corn-to-Ethanol Research Center at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville as a State Biorefining Center of Excellence with the following purposes and goals:
            (A) To utilize interdisciplinary,
interinstitutional, and industrial collaborations to conduct research.
            (B) To provide training and services to the
ethanol fuel industry to make projects and training to advance the biofuels industry in the State more affordable for the institutional and industrial bodies, including, but not limited to, Illinois farmer-owned ethanol cooperatives.
            (C) To coordinate near-term industry research
needs and laboratory services by identifying needs and pursuing federal and other funding sources.
            (D) To develop and provide hands-on training to
prepare students for the biofuels workforce and train workforce reentrants.
            (E) To serve as an independent, third-party
source for review, testing, validation standardization, and definition in areas of industry need.
            (F) To provide seminars, tours, and informational
sessions advocating renewable energy.
            (G) To provide consultation services and
information for those interested in renewable energy.
            (H) To develop demonstration projects by pursuing
federal and other funding sources.
    (e) The Advisory Board established by this Section is a continuation, as changed by the Section, of the Board established under Section 8a of the Energy Conservation and Coal Development Act and repealed by Public Act 92-736.
(Source: P.A. 102-370, eff. 8-13-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)