Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(110 ILCS 670/15-88)
In-state tuition charge.
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary,
for tuition purposes, the Board shall deem an individual
resident, until the individual establishes a residence outside of this
State, if all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The individual resided with his or her parent or
guardian while attending a public or private high school in this State.
(2) The individual graduated from a public or private
high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma in this State.
(3) The individual attended school in this State for
at least 3 years as of the date the individual graduated from high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma.
(4) The individual registers as an entering student
in the University not earlier than the 2003 fall semester.
(5) In the case of an individual who is not a citizen
or a permanent resident of the United States, the individual provides the University with an affidavit stating that the individual will file an application to become a permanent resident of the United States at the earliest opportunity the individual is eligible to do so.
This subsection (a) applies only to tuition for a
term or semester that begins
on or after May 20, 2003 (the effective date of Public Act 93-7).
Any revenue lost by the University in implementing this subsection (a)
shall be absorbed by the University Income Fund.
(b) If a person is on active military duty and stationed in Illinois, then
Board shall deem that person and any of his or her dependents Illinois
residents for tuition purposes.
Beginning with the 2009-2010 academic year, if a person is on active military duty and is stationed out of State, but he or she was stationed in this State for at least 3 years immediately prior to being reassigned out of State, then the Board shall deem that person and any of his or her dependents Illinois residents for tuition purposes, as long as that person or his or her dependent (i) applies for admission to the University within 18 months of the person on active military duty being reassigned or (ii) remains continuously enrolled at the University. Beginning with the 2013-2014 academic year, if a person is utilizing benefits under the federal Post-9/11 Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2008 or any subsequent variation of that Act, then the Board shall deem that person an Illinois resident for tuition purposes. Beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year, if a person is utilizing benefits under the federal All-Volunteer Force Educational Assistance Program, then the Board shall deem that person an Illinois resident for tuition purposes. Beginning with the 2019-2020 academic year, per the federal requirements for maintaining approval for veterans' education benefits under 38 U.S.C. 3679(c), if a person is on active military duty or is receiving veterans' education benefits, then the Board of Trustees shall deem that person an Illinois resident for tuition purposes for any academic quarter, semester, or term, as applicable.
(Source: P.A. 101-424, eff. 8-16-19.)